cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Internet constantly disconnecting

MK1
Grafter
Posts: 26
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎29-08-2018

Internet constantly disconnecting

Hoping to get some assistance.

The issue has been ongoing since Monday, and the router light is usually blue for the most part. The internet connection has been dropping consistently throughout the day to the point where's it's completely unusable. I had no connection whatsoever on Thursday.

I work from home, so this has been an absolute headache to deal with. Plusnet arranged an engineer visit on Thursday, who requested a new router. The new router is now in use, but it's made no difference at all; the issue remains and the connection continues to drop.
7 REPLIES 7
sanyaade
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎01-02-2020

Re: Internet constantly disconnecting

I am here because of experiencing the same issues, line continues to disconnect for a few minutes then reconnect back.

 

Seriously?

adamwalker
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 16,891
Thanks: 885
Fixes: 221
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: Internet constantly disconnecting

Hi @MK1 sorry for the issues with disconnections you've been seeing. I've been running some diagnostic tests which don't show any obvious causes for the issue. 

 

It does look like things have settled down in the past couple of days, how have things been from your point of view?

 

 

 

@sanyaade 

 

I'm sorry you're seeing disconnections too, my testing did pick up on a cause, it's a "high resistance cable fault" so we'd need to book a visit from an openreach engineer. 

 

We can book them to come and see you in the following slot times:

 

Monday to Friday

AM = 08:00 to 13:00

PM = 13:00 to 18:00

 

Please let me know when you can be available and I'll book it in for you. 

 

Adam

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
sanyaade
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎01-02-2020

Re: Internet constantly disconnecting

Hi Adam,

 

Many thanks for getting in touch and for the update.

Any Thursday will be fine preferably  AM = 08:00 to 13:00 slot.

 

Aside: If we moved to "Full Fibre (FTTP)", can still keep our static IPs (8 Static IP) that we have?

I have seen business options for FTTP but I think the 900MB range will be the way to go.

 

Once again, many thanks for your support.

 

Hear from you soon!

 

God blesses!!!

 

Regards

 

 

MatthewWheeler
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 8,948
Thanks: 1,561
Fixes: 480
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: Internet constantly disconnecting

Thanks for responding @sanyaade 

I've booked that in for you now and sent a confirmation via text/e-mail.

With regards to FTTP as we're no longer offering upgrades or changes to business accounts you'd have to downgrade to a residential account if you wanted to stay with us.

Unfortunately, you wouldn't be able to keep your current static IP but you can request a new one 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
sanyaade
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎01-02-2020

Re: Internet constantly disconnecting

@MatthewWheeler :

 

Many thanks for your reply. 

I have also replied to your texts and email messages.

Re: Unfortunately, you wouldn't be able to keep your current static IP but you can request a new one 

Do we still get eight new static IPs to replace the current ones?  then we will have to replace and update our domains' configurations.

Many thanks for your support!

 

God blesses!!!

 

Regards

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 29,600
Thanks: 6,660
Fixes: 1,485
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Internet constantly disconnecting


Moderators Note


This topic has been moved from Full Fibre to Broadband

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
adamwalker
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 16,891
Thanks: 885
Fixes: 221
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: Internet constantly disconnecting

Hi @sandyade sorry to disappoint but we only supplied IP blocks for business accounts so we can only provide single static IPs for each account.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team