cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Have I been mis-sold a package?

Gillrich1
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎11-12-2018

Have I been mis-sold a package?

Hello,

I'm slightly confused about my download speeds, I've never really put any thought into it because I live alone and only really use the internet for streaming services and it seems to work fine. 

However I'm coming to the end of my current contract with you guys and I've been doing speed tests and it seems my line is only capable of up to 15Mbps at most. I've been paying for the 66Mb unlimited fibre package for the last 24 months and I would have thought I'd be getting better speeds?

Am I misunderstanding something here, is there some mathematical difference between 15Mbps and "66Mb" as you describe it? Is there some fault on my line that I've been oblivious to for the last 24 months? Have you simply upsold me a package my line can't handle and I've paid way more than I should have?

I'd appreciate some explanation here please.

Regards,

Richard

23 REPLIES 23
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,436
Thanks: 5,680
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Have I been mis-sold a package?

@Gillrich1 If you are paying for Unlimited Fibre Extra, your connection should be capable of it. If you are speed testing at 15Mb/s, the chances are you have a fault somewhere - no mi-selling.

If you want help from the Community, can you post screen shots of the results from the following, please? https://www.broadbandchecker.btwholesale.com/#/ADSL  - ensuring your phone number is obscured. https://speedtest.btwholesale.com/ - the 'Additional Diagnostic' report would be useful, if you can get it to run.

Also, check your phone line for noise - dial 17070, select option 2. After the confirmation of your number, al you should hear is the regular 'Quiet Line Test' message.

John
Longliner
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 598
Thanks: 306
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎22-10-2014

Re: Have I been mis-sold a package?

As John says above, plus please confirm you are testing by wired connection direct to the master socket and NOT via wifi as this often gives poor results.

Mike

Gillrich1
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎11-12-2018

Re: Have I been mis-sold a package?

I've run the tests suggested - see attached. Not sure how to interpret any of this, but it seems to suggest to me my line's only capable of 15.94mpbs max?  I'm using my original Plusnet Hub One router which has always been plugged directly into the master socket. I don't have an actual telephone to check the line for noise as I'm profoundly deaf and haven't had any need for one for decades now!

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,436
Thanks: 5,680
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Have I been mis-sold a package?

@Gillrich1 Your connection is capable of much more - see the top line in the ...129 screenshot. If you wish for further guidance, I will post my 'help text', which should allow fellow Community members to advise.

John
Gillrich1
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎11-12-2018

Re: Have I been mis-sold a package?

So I'm basically getting just under half the speed I should be getting? I'd appreciate further guidance please.

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,436
Thanks: 5,680
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Have I been mis-sold a package?

OK. You've done some of this with those first two screenshots, so I'll cross them out, but leave them in for reference.

 

For Community members to be able to help, information from these two sites, as screenshots, posted as pictures within the topic, not as attachments:-

BT Broadband(obscuring your phone number) and BTW Performance Tester - Over a wired (Ethernet) connection if at all possible, please report the 'ADDITIONAL DIAGNOSTICS', and sight of the broadband connection status from your Hub (with the 'Username' obscured) would be a good starting point.

For the Hub One -

Navigate from the Home Screen to Troubleshooting > Helpdesk

For the Hub Two -

Navigate from the Home Screen to Advanced Settings > Technical Log > Information

It may also be a good idea to report the results of a Quiet Line Test - dial 17070 option 2 from a (preferably corded) phone. After the confirmation of your phone number, there should be total silence apart from the regular 'Quiet Line Test' announcement. Any other noise - report a PHONE fault first.

If you are unsure about any of the above, please just ask - I am happy to help.

John
Gillrich1
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎11-12-2018

Re: Have I been mis-sold a package?

How important is the Quiet Line Test? Like I said, I'm profoundly deaf and wouldn't be able to hear anything even if I had a landline phone. I could probably borrow something from work and make a recording maybe but not sure how long that would take me.

Screenshot 2023-07-24 185129.pngScreenshot 2023-07-24 185657.pngScreenshot 2023-07-24 195810.png

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,436
Thanks: 5,680
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Have I been mis-sold a package?

Thanks for that. Assuming you don't intentionally turn off your Hub, I can see a problem straight away - you are losing xDSL connection, which points to an OpenReach network issue. Your upstream noise margin is raised - another pointer in that direction, and your attenuation figures are suspect as well.

Have you done the Quiet Line Test?

Sorry missed what I guess was your edit adding the deafness bit. The QLT is is a useful guide as to which bit of your circuit is the problem, but I would suggest you raise a broadband fault via: https://www.plus.net/help/report-a-problem/broadband/  .

It won't get picked up until tomorrow now, but please let us know the result.

John
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,436
Thanks: 5,680
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Have I been mis-sold a package?

@Gillrich1 Just another thought - if you are profoundly deaf, I would complete this https://www.plus.net/member-centre/login?action=additionalsupport form. It will mean that they will communicate with you in a form which is suitable.

John
Gillrich1
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎11-12-2018

Re: Have I been mis-sold a package?

@jab1 I've done everything you've suggested, we'll see how it goes, thank you!

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,436
Thanks: 5,680
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Have I been mis-sold a package?

Cheers - keep us informed.

John
Gillrich1
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎11-12-2018

Re: Have I been mis-sold a package?

Well, the automated fault finding thing seemed to work fine, bot messaged me back and said it had found a fault, so I went ahead and followed the instructions to book an appointment texting "NEXT PM"....and it's just messaged me back saying the engineer will come out between 8AM and 1PM on Wednesday, which isn't acceptable at all, that's not PM, and I simply can't be home that day or time anyway. I can't figure out how to change it if at all, even though one of the texts I got said it could be changed up to 2PM the day before, but how?

I guess the engineer won't be getting access if he needs it and this might not be resolved....

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,436
Thanks: 5,680
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Have I been mis-sold a package?

I'll see if one of the Super Users on here can do anything for us. Might not get picked up until tomorrow - none of them are about at the moment.

@MisterW ?

John
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,316
Thanks: 5,875
Fixes: 421
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Have I been mis-sold a package?

Im not surehow you can change the appointment using the text system. Best way is to call Customer services and change it that way.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.