cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Exchange Upgrade Information

BruceMcTavish
Grafter
Posts: 47
Registered: 29-09-2014

Exchange Upgrade Information

Where's the most up to date and accurate place to check if exchange upgrade is due. Have had a lot of BT activity at exchange and men up poles but they're all a bit tight lipped when you ask what's happening.
20 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,631
Thanks: 865
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Exchange Upgrade Information

Post the exchange name and there's at least one user on here who might find an answer.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,234
Thanks: 1,319
Fixes: 31
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Exchange Upgrade Information

The information in here may be of use to you.
http://www.openreach.co.uk/coming_soon
It's a PDF and you'll need your exchange name as well.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Exchange Upgrade Information

It's a little bit out of date that information.
The Scotland Superfast site has pretty good information - http://www.digitalscotland.org/whereandwhen
If you post your exchange/cabinet, we might be able to find some better info if it's due to be enabled soon.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,234
Thanks: 1,319
Fixes: 31
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Exchange Upgrade Information

I didn't post that as I didn't know where the OP lived. Just because he's called himself BruceMcTavish doesn't mean to say he's in Scotland.  Wink
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Exchange Upgrade Information

I looked at his profile Wink
JayG
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 914
Thanks: 66
Fixes: 2
Registered: 30-10-2011

Re: Exchange Upgrade Information

Quote from: AndyH
The Scotland Superfast site has pretty good information - http://www.digitalscotland.org/whereandwhen

Impressively quick (and positive  Wink) result for my exchange/cabinet in Sheffield but still at variance with BTOR's checker - Scotland Superfast says I can get FTTC 'now' but BTOR say the cabinet is enabled but not 'ready'. 
Accurately maintaining these databases must be either rocket science or considered to be too trivial to be worth wasting too much time and effort on.  Undecided
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,234
Thanks: 1,319
Fixes: 31
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Exchange Upgrade Information

Embarrassed
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Exchange Upgrade Information

That's a bit strange though how the Scotland Superfast page gives info for the rest of the UK.
The Superfast Openreach site checker is not good for accurate information though.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,631
Thanks: 865
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Exchange Upgrade Information

Quote from: AndyH
The Scotland Superfast site has pretty good information - http://www.digitalscotland.org/whereandwhen

That looks to be just a different skin in front of the same back end as http://www.superfast-openreach.co.uk/where-and-when/
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,631
Thanks: 865
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Exchange Upgrade Information

Quote from: jelv
Post the exchange name and there's at least one user on here who might find an answer.

and lo and behold, here he is:
Quote from: AndyH
If you post your exchange/cabinet, we might be able to find some better info if it's due to be enabled soon.

Post the information he's asked for (you can get your cabinet number from the top of http://www.dslchecker.bt.com/adsl/adslchecker.welcome) and there's a good chance he'll find something for you.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,472
Thanks: 292
Fixes: 4
Registered: 11-08-2007

Re: Exchange Upgrade Information

Quote from: jelv
Quote from: AndyH
The Scotland Superfast site has pretty good information - http://www.digitalscotland.org/whereandwhen

That looks to be just a different skin in front of the same back end as http://www.superfast-openreach.co.uk/where-and-when/

On the face of it they certainly look similar, but they return different results !.

If I put my details (Purleigh in Essex) into DigitalScotland - When and Where, it ACCURATELY says -
[quote=DigitalScotland]Fibre not available
You are connected to Purleigh via an 'EO (Exchange Only) line'. This means your line is connected directly to the exchange. Faster broadband is not available to you yet.

Putting the same information into the recently revised Openreach - When and Where site, it INCORRECTLY says -
[quote=OpenReach]Superfast Fibre is in your area but we can't tell by your postcode/number if you can get it right now.
Crazy
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,631
Thanks: 865
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Exchange Upgrade Information

Was that putting your phone number in to both checkers?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
jem16
Grafter
Posts: 874
Registered: 27-10-2014

Re: Exchange Upgrade Information

Quote from: AndyH
It's a little bit out of date that information.
The Scotland Superfast site has pretty good information - http://www.digitalscotland.org/whereandwhen

Thanks for posting that. I was having difficulty with the Openreach website.
Quote
If you post your exchange/cabinet, we might be able to find some better info if it's due to be enabled soon.

Any chance you could find out some more info on Croftfoot, Cabinet 53?
Your link above shows that fibre is at the exchange but not at my cabinet yet.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Exchange Upgrade Information

Quote from: jem16
Any chance you could find out some more info on Croftfoot, Cabinet 53?
Your link above shows that fibre is at the exchange but not at my cabinet yet.

Unfortunately, your cabinet isn't part of BT's commercial rollout or the current Digital Scotland rollout plans.
I would contact Digital Scotland to see if there's any plans for your cabinet in the next phased rollout. It does look like quite a large area is covered by that cabinet, so you might be able to get other local residents involved in putting pressure on Digital Scotland or BT.