cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can i go faster

pies
Grafter

Can i go faster

Hi all newbie here,finally got away from orange Angry Been here a couple of weeks now and  everything is better.Ive had no dropouts while online so im wondering if i can run any faster
Type Interleave   
Status No Defect   
Downstream    Upstream

Data rate (Kbps) 3680  448 

Noise margin (dB) 8.8  18.0 

Output power (dBm) 18.6  11.9 

Attenuation (dB) 59.0  31.5 
thanks all Smiley

5 REPLIES 5
ChemicalBrother
Grafter

Re: Can i go faster

Hello and welcome to the forums!
I'd say by looking at your stats you're doing pretty well with what you have already - your line has been interleaved as it looks like you have an extremely long line judging by the 59dB downstream antennuation, so to get 3.5Mb seems about right.
So.. unless you move closer to an exchange, that's about the best you will get I'm afraid.
Roger.
pies
Grafter

Smiley Cheers not a problem just making sure
ChemicalBrother
Grafter

You're very welcome  Smiley
decomplexity
Rising Star

As Roger says, your speed is consistent with your downstream attenuation, but - as many other posts here have demonstrated - you can often work wonders by sorting out your domestic phone wiring which can otherwise increase attenuation and noise. Specifically:
a. connect your router/modem or modem direct to the BT's master socket (i.e. not at the end of a long extension lead) and use a good quality connection lead* (not El Cheapo 4-wire)
b. use a filtered faceplate* on the master socket
c. if you have extension wiring, disconnect the bell wire
d. use a router/modem instead of an ADSL  modem, and use one (e.g. Netgear DG834 V3 or V4 varieties) which appear to tolerate bad lines at low noise margins better than others
* see e.g. ADSLNation's website
Zen from May 17. PN Business account from 2004 - 2017
MickKi
Grafter

May be a matter of opinion, or experience I guess but: