cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using or Blocking Port 1050

retep
Grafter
Posts: 182
Registered: 14-04-2007

Using or Blocking Port 1050

I just used grc.com's shields up to check for any open ports on my pc. Port 1050 was reported as open.
It appears to be used as a mini_http server on my local PC when I try -
http://my static tcp ip address:1050/   
I get a username/password prompt presumably to my local PC, its seems secure but I would prefer to close that port although I have some curiousity about maybe using this as low bandwidth server. Anyone know anything more about this?
Search engines give hints about re-directing the port number but I can't find an actual solution.
  Peter.
5 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,729
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Using or Blocking Port 1050

It's your router not your local PC. As the advise you have already found says, forwarding port 1050 to an invalid address, may be one of the few ways of closing it.
Do do rely on the username/password, as this may not be unknown.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,001
Thanks: 1,442
Fixes: 154
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Using or Blocking Port 1050

If this is the routers remote admin, there might be an option to turn it off?

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

retep
Grafter
Posts: 182
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Using or Blocking Port 1050

Thanks for those replies, I have tried the router's username/ password to login, which had no effect  No option to block ports on the routers menu either.
3rd failed logon attempt brought up a 401 error with a link to -
http://www.acme.com/software/mini_httpd/
mini_httpd does appear to be a Lunix system, my PC is XP so likely to be the router.
  Peter.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,001
Thanks: 1,442
Fixes: 154
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Using or Blocking Port 1050

Which router are you using?

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

retep
Grafter
Posts: 182
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Using or Blocking Port 1050

I won't post the router name just in case there is a known fault with it. I will see if I can get a reply on this from my supplier.