Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cannot Access Secure Site

Unknown

Cannot Access Secure Site

Hi All PlusNet Forum
I am a newbie and relatively non technical who needs some help

I have a relatively new (3 months old) TP-Link router modem Model TD-W8960N. & a TP-Link network card
It is hard wired to my computer ie it is not used in wireless configuration
I am using Win XP SP3 upto date with Windows Service pack, Firefox (latest) IE 8 (latest) Google Chrome latest
Avast 5 Home A/V Online Armor free firewall (latest
Problem
I tried to connect to a secure site that I do not use very often http://www.alliancetrust.co.uk/ (a secure site) and after logging in correctly the page hangs and gives the following. (all my other secure sites work fine including banks)
"""""The Connection Was Reset
The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading
The site could be temporarily unavailable or too busy. Try again in a few moments
If you are unnable to load any pages, check your computers network connections
If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure that firefox is permitted to access the web"""""""
I checked with Alliance Trust they say there is no problem at there end and no other reports of none access. They accept my login details are correct.  It was referred to their IT department and their comments were:
"""I have discussed with the IT department and they have advised me that
they have come across this problem in the past and it is to do with your
TPlink Router.
I would suggest you contact your Internet Service Provider and explain
the situation to them and they will be able to assist or provide and
alternative router.  Alternatively you could call the TPlink Support and
explaining that there is a particular secure site that you can't access
but you can access others, they should be able to offer advice.
Unfortunately this is the only thing the IT team can offer as the