Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BT ADSL Master socket

Robtheplod
Grafter

BT ADSL Master socket

Hello All
I have a BT Master socket that had the ADSL faceplate on (with ADSL and telco port). I've now come to move my router to another room in the house but it seems the ADSL signal is not passing the master socket (no ADSL detected). It's all wired correctly and the phone works - do these filters block the ADSL signal to subsequent sockets?? and if so do i just need to replace the faceplate with a standard one and use a normal ADSL tail filter in the new room?Huh
thanks!
18 REPLIES 18
adamwalker
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Fixes: 221

Re: BT ADSL Master socket

Any sockets which are extensions from your master socket should allow you to connect to ADSL, normally you'd just need to connect via a standard filter to those. The fact that you're not able to sync on the extension may mean that it's too far away or that there could be an issue with the cabling between the two sockets.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Robtheplod
Grafter

thanks, looking at internal wiring, if voice is present and working then does this also mean that broadband signals should be ok?
it just seems the bulky Bt master socket faceplate is not passing ADSL signals to extensions..... could this be so?
thanks for replies!!
JayG
Pro
Fixes: 6

The ADSL socket passes all of the incoming signal from the phone line, the phone socket has the ADSL part of the signal filtered out.to enable non-ADSL equipment to work properly.
Probably worth checking if your router still works correctly connected directly to the master socket ADSL output - if it does there must be something wrong with your extension wiring even though it appears OK.
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 415