cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband working, phone dead no dial tone please fix

pint
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 596
Thanks: 56
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎19-08-2007

Broadband working, phone dead no dial tone please fix

My broadband is working, but the phone is dead - no dial tone.
Ive tried more than one phone on the line, and its currently plugged into the master socket 'test' socket with the faceplate off ( this has been tried with more than one phone.
I havent got time to p¦ss around on a hold system, will also post this elsewhere until i get a reply
10 REPLIES 10
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,470
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-11-2012

Re: Broadband working, phone dead no dial tone please fix

Spamming the forum with identical postings in several sections will not impress the mods...
Your first thread is in the right place...
pint
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 596
Thanks: 56
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎19-08-2007

Re: Broadband working, phone dead no dial tone please fix

Hopefuly the 'mods' might sort soemthing
Ive been on hold for 30 minutes, got to go now, not impressed
All4One
Grafter
Posts: 289
Registered: ‎17-03-2013

Re: Broadband working, phone dead no dial tone please fix

Mods are just fellow customers. And I imagine the online forums team might have gone home by now.
MattyC
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 3,201
Fixes: 46
Registered: ‎10-04-2014

Re: Broadband working, phone dead no dial tone please fix

We haven't. I was liaising with the mods over which thread to comment on, as posting over multiple threads can confuse things a little bit.
It looks like the fault has been raised now with an ERT of 28/09/15 23:59:59.
Hopefully it's the sooner side of that.
Matty
ex-Plusnet staffer. Any posts after 28/07/2017 aren't on behalf of Plusnet
pint
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 596
Thanks: 56
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎19-08-2007

Re: Broadband working, phone dead no dial tone please fix

Anyone know how to set up free call divert?  I managed to get through to a voice at plusnet  who didn't have much to say other than theres a fault.
Next question - what would happen in an emergency ( ie need to dial 999 ) or if someone needed to get in touch? 
how can you access 1571?
why arent plusnet saying anything about the problem - wheres the updates?
jelv
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 990
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Broadband working, phone dead no dial tone please fix

Quote from: pint
Anyone know how to set up free call divert?

Yes switch to using BT for your phone who offer this service. Plusnet do not.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
pint
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 596
Thanks: 56
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎19-08-2007

Re: Broadband working, phone dead no dial tone please fix

Talk Talk offer it as well, http://www.talktalk.co.uk/legal/compensation-policy/
Quote
Call divert - to help if you can't receive incoming calls
If a fault on our network stops you receiving incoming calls totally, we'll divert them for you. The cost of any diverted calls will also be credited to your bill after the fault is fixed.


Now on Day 3 and still nothing working
pint
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 596
Thanks: 56
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎19-08-2007

Re: Broadband working, phone dead no dial tone please fix

End of the third day and still nothing, will there be a fix on Day four?
and to top it all my broadband speed/reliablility has dropped .
Tried to watch something on my Roku box,  via Iplayer, and now TV but it says no internet connection - web browsing on a P.C also slows to a complete crawl at times
pint
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 596
Thanks: 56
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎19-08-2007

Re: Broadband working, phone dead no dial tone please fix

Fixed, on Day 5.
however my broadband speed is somewhat lower than it was, currently getting speeds of 6.5meg
router says
Upstream / Downstream
Current Rate (Kbps) 960up,  7808 down
Max Rate (Kbps) 1096up,  8352 down
SNR Margin (db) 8 up, 6  down
Line Attenuation (db) 12.5up, 27 down
Errors (Pkts) 0 0 up, 0 down
Plusnet line speed thing https://www.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed says:
Estimated line speed:
    11Mb (This may vary between 10Mb and 13.5Mb) - Checked on 2015-07-17 23:29:17
Current line speed:
    6.7 Mb
BT speedtest says:
Download speed achieved during the test was - 6.56 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 2 Mbps-7.15 Mbps.
IP Profile for your line is - 6.89 Mbps
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 0.78Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 0.83 Mbps
As for the phone fault system at plusnet, i will have a few thoughts on that later
HarryB
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,188
Thanks: 1,442
Fixes: 255
Registered: ‎25-03-2015

Re: Broadband working, phone dead no dial tone please fix

Looks like automation has already addressed this issue and you're speeds should be back up around 9.3 down (10.6 Sync)
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Infrastructure Operations Professional