cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FIFA 13 unacceptable LAG

dave
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 12,282
Thanks: 380
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: FIFA 13 unacceptable LAG

Plug the PS3 in port 4 and your PC in port 3
Telnet to the router and log in, details will normally be the following unless you've changed them:
telnet 192.168.1.254
u/n admin
p/w serial number of the router found on the bottom
enter the following commands:
:eth switch mirror capture port 3
:eth switch mirror ingress port 4 state enabled
:eth switch mirror egress port 4 state enabled
If you then start Wireshark it should capture from the PS3.
(Anyone on fibre swap port 4 for port 2 in both the command and the cabling).
If you want to leave this permanently set up then you can run the command
saveall
If you don't then if you switch the router off/on then it will go to the way it was.
Dave Tomlinson
Enterprise Architect - Network & OSS
Plusnet Technology
dave
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 12,282
Thanks: 380
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: FIFA 13 unacceptable LAG

If you can save the whole file, zip it up and attach it to a ticket that'd be appreciated then we can scan through it. We've got a list of the ping sites that the game should connect to so we're looking to see where it's going and work out the route out of our network to takes to get there. Thanks.
Dave Tomlinson
Enterprise Architect - Network & OSS
Plusnet Technology
JIO22
Grafter
Posts: 433
Registered: ‎05-02-2013

Re: FIFA 13 unacceptable LAG

I will leave reece to have a go at doing this, I see he is on the case already.
Also in the past when I have tried to do wireshark captures it doesn't seem to capture anything!  (Maybe doing something wrong)
If you need me to do one let me know, although I now have these other issues to sort after the move to get back to where I was with just the original lag problems  :(.
If reece's one is ok for us all then great, but like I say if you need independent wiresharks then let me know.
Thanks.
JIO22
Grafter
Posts: 433
Registered: ‎05-02-2013

Re: FIFA 13 unacceptable LAG

Quote
@JIO22
Would it be possible for you to attempt the wireshark as mentioned in the FIFA thread

Can you leave me some good instructions on how to do this please Chris? When I have tried before nothing gets captured for some reason....
I am currently using the plusnet Technicolor TG582n.
chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: FIFA 13 unacceptable LAG

Quote from: dave
Plug the PS3 in port 4 and your PC in port 3
Telnet to the router and log in, details will normally be the following unless you've changed them:
telnet 192.168.1.254
u/n admin
p/w serial number of the router found on the bottom
enter the following commands:
:eth switch mirror capture port 3
:eth switch mirror ingress port 4 state enabled
:eth switch mirror egress port 4 state enabled
If you then start Wireshark it should capture from the PS3.
(Anyone on fibre swap port 4 for port 2 in both the command and the cabling).
If you want to leave this permanently set up then you can run the command
saveall
If you don't then if you switch the router off/on then it will go to the way it was.

Quote from: dave
Anyone able to run a Wireshark from the Playstation (we were going to do this here but we're having issues with our PS3). I need a capture doing the following:
Start capture
Switch on PS3
Start FIFA
Go to online matchmaking
Start game
Stop capture 10 seconds after kickoff
This should give me enough information to determine if one of the things we think it could be is or isn't the cause of the problem.
If anyone is using a Technicolor router we can provide instructions on where if you plug a PC into one port of the router and the PS3 in another (neither wireless) you can capture the PS3 traffic on the PC via wireshark.

Have you tried following this process?
JIO22
Grafter
Posts: 433
Registered: ‎05-02-2013

Re: FIFA 13 unacceptable LAG

Hi,
I haven't tried it yet Chris.
Where do I put this info in, as I can't see where to put it in?
Quote
:eth switch mirror capture port 3
:eth switch mirror ingress port 4 state enabled
:eth switch mirror egress port 4 state enabled
If you then start Wireshark it should capture from the PS3.

And I start wireshark up and it automatically starts the capture?
Dave refers to providing instructions if people are using a Technicolor router?
JIO22
Grafter
Posts: 433
Registered: ‎05-02-2013

Re: FIFA 13 unacceptable LAG

Hi Chris,
As above, I have tried this now and can't see where to put these commands in?  Is in the router page, in dos or somewhere else?
Can I have some clear instructions please if you need me to do this, so it works.
Also, the last time I tried to upload a capture to my ticket it wouldn't work. has this been fixed?  If not I will need a email address to send it to.
Razer
Grafter
Posts: 1,398
Thanks: 8
Registered: ‎17-11-2012

Re: FIFA 13 unacceptable LAG

You enter it at the command prompt when you've telnetted into the router.
If you don't know how to find the command prompt:
Go to your start menu and click on 'Run'. Then type in 'cmd' (without the apostrophes) and hit Enter (or click OK). A little window will open with a black background and text like this:
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
C:\>

You will see the prompt flashing at the end of the C:\> line. Follow the instructions above from 'telnet 192.168.1.254' That is, type in  'telnet 192.168.1.254' and hit enter. You will see a prompt from the router asking 'Username:' and then 'Password:' You will then see:

                            ______  Technicolor TG582n
                        ___/_____/\
                       /         /\\  8.4.4.J.BW
                 _____/__       /  \\
               _/       /\_____/___ \  Copyright (c) 1999-2011, Technicolor
              //       /  \       /\ \
      _______//_______/    \     / _\/______
     /      / \       \    /    / /        /\
  __/      /   \       \  /    / /        / _\__
 / /      /     \_______\/    / /        / /   /\
/_/______/___________________/ /________/ /___/  \
\ \      \    ___________    \ \        \ \   \  /
 \_\      \  /          /\    \ \        \ \___\/
    \      \/          /  \    \ \        \  /
     \_____/          /    \    \ \________\/
          /__________/      \    \  /
          \   _____  \      /_____\/
           \ /    /\  \    /___\/
            /____/  \  \  /
            \    \  /___\/
             \____\/
------------------------------------------------------------------------
{admin}=>

It is at the {admin}=> prompt that you input the other commands you ask about.
Razer
Grafter
Posts: 1,398
Thanks: 8
Registered: ‎17-11-2012

Re: FIFA 13 unacceptable LAG

After reading your questions again:
When you've input the commands you can start wireshark. You need to select your NIC card in the wireshark interface. Then you need to click on start (a little icon on the top menu), then start your game and wireshark will capture. Do what you need to do in the game and when you quit the game you need to stop the capture. Save the capture file (in the correct format - ".pcap") and put it in a zip and upload that on your ticket. There is more information here should you need to peruse it.
To finish your telnet session, type:
exit
wait a moment for the next prompt to confirm session end, then type again:
exit
or simply close the cmd window.
JIO22
Grafter
Posts: 433
Registered: ‎05-02-2013

Re: FIFA 13 unacceptable LAG

I have put the commands into place but keep getting this error:
'telnet' is not recognised as a internal, or external command, operable program or batch file.
Kept trying loads of times, but same message, I can't see I'm doing anything wrong from the instructions.

I need help, fallen at the first hurdle!!!  If i'm going to do this, I need it to be able to work, otherwise my time is being wasted again!!!
Razer
Grafter
Posts: 1,398
Thanks: 8
Registered: ‎17-11-2012

Re: FIFA 13 unacceptable LAG

I've assumed you're on XP, but maybe you're on a different OS. Try this for Vista (I think Windows 7, too, or similar):
Quote
Add telnet from the Windows Control Panel:
    Click Microsoft Windows Start menu and choose Control Panel.
    Double-click the Programs and Features icon.
    Along the left side, click the Turn Windows features on and off link
    Log in as the "Administrator" if the User Account Control window opens.
    Click to select the Telnet Client checkbox in the Windows Features window.
    Click Ok.
    The telnet installer will install the feature.
    Important: Please allow a few minutes to complete the installation.
    You may be required to restart your system.
JIO22
Grafter
Posts: 433
Registered: ‎05-02-2013

Re: FIFA 13 unacceptable LAG

Thanks razor for replying and helping me here.  I am on vista.  Will try this now.
JIO22
Grafter
Posts: 433
Registered: ‎05-02-2013

Re: FIFA 13 unacceptable LAG

Having problems installing telenet.  It's saying "Please wait while the features are configured, this may take several minutes".
Have tried restarting but still the same.  How long does this take? Or is something else wrong? As it doesn't look as though it is doing anything....
JIO22
Grafter
Posts: 433
Registered: ‎05-02-2013

Re: FIFA 13 unacceptable LAG

DONE IT!!!!!
Got the capture, saved it, zipped it and is now uploaded to my open ticket.
I have followed all instructions, a big thanks to razor for helping me get it done.
Please can you guys look into this and let me know the outcome of it either on here or on my open ticket, and, if it is correct, hopefully so?

Ben.
chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: FIFA 13 unacceptable LAG

We've got it, although it doesn;t seem to have enough info on there, could you tru again making sure you run through these steps and we'll take another look?