cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

problem with certain websites

Hendrixxx

problem with certain websites

Hi there
First of all, I want to say that I'm not an expert on broadband. I'd still appreciate it if someone could help me, so thanks in advance.
I've had plusnet for a few weeks now and it's all fine when I connect directly to the voyager 210 router that I got from plus net.
However, when I connect it to my wireless router (Netgear MR814 v2) there is a problem with certain websites. For example when writing an email on yahoo.com it doesn't work when pressing "send". The broweser (both Firefox and IE) tries to load the page but after some time it shows the browser error screen. The same happens when going on monster.co.uk  when entering log in details and clicking on "log in" button. I couldn't even log on this community!
Thus, it seems to happen when data is being sent to websites. As I said it doesn't happen when connecting direclty to the modem. Has anybody got an idea what router/modem settings I might have to change to avoid this?
Thanks!
3 REPLIES 3
James
Grafter

Re: problem with certain websites

Hi Hendrixxx,
Hmm.  It sounds like a problem with something called "MTU".
Can you try downloading DRTCP from http://www.dslreports.com/drtcp
It would make sense to try using an MTU size of 1500 and to ensure that you have the same set on your router (there may be a setting on your routers configuration page).
Let us know if this helps!
spraxyt
Resting Legend
Fixes: 75

I think the problem is probably that the Netgear router has an MTU of 1500 (or something larger than 1400).