cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Commissioning new broadband

sleepyjohn
Grafter

Commissioning new broadband

Hi,    I'm very new to Plusnet,  having recently changed my BT telephone-only service to Plusnet's phone and broadband service,  so my line never had broadband before. 
I'd like ask what steps are normally taken by Plusnet  to test and  commission a new broadband service and to retest a pre-existing old telephone service after BT Wholesale have converted an exisitng old line for broadband to be added.  What sort of testing is done by Plusnet to make sure BT Wholesale are handing over a line that's working properly?    I'm interested not only in how Plusnet checks  the broadband part,  but also the telephone part to make sure both are working OK following any reconfiguration that BT Wholesale may have had to do on the landline. 
For the broadband part,  I noticed that on the same day as my telephone service was supposed to be cut over,  I received this e-mail:
When you signed up for your broadband account, we performed a check on your telephone line to give you an estimated speed your line might achieve.
Now that your service has now been active for 14 days, we thought we'd let you know the speed as it stands today, by way of comparison.
Estimated line speed: 17Mbps
Current line speed: 21Mbps

At first this sounded very good and I thought that a speed measurement had actually been made on my line to prove the broadband was working OK,  but it turned out to be quite misleading because up to that date and beyond,  no router had been plugged into the line at my end.  You can't measure speed when one end's disconnected,  can you?  My question is "how did Plusnet get that 21Mbps figure,  and what was it actually supposed to represent?"
I'd very much welcome a bit of clarification on what tests Plusnet actually do perform on a line to commission it and make sure it's working OK prior to cutting broadband and phone service on to it.