cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

complete wireless noob desperate for help.

N/A

Hi Julian,

I think you were right all along. You don't need anything other than your new Wireless/Router and a Wireless PCI card in your PC. Get rid of your old USB Modem.

There's some good diagrams here

http://www.adslguide.org.uk/guide/connections.asp

Mike
3 REPLIES
N/A

ok guys here is my pradicament. Tongue

although i am a very competant pc person, i can nt say the same when it comes to anything network.

and now we have just come by a secound pc, i now obviously want to jump on the network wagon,

now i have also been given as a gift the following hardware.....
http://www.inexq.co.uk/web1/english/news/newpro.asp?c4_new=ISW050t&new_type=prod

now as a noob i have absolute no idea were to start.

let me start though by saying what i thought i had to do.

currently on a adsl usb modem (with only 1 cable connection to my phone line then to pc), all working normal.

now my thoughts were, this,
the hardware ive come by, was to take the place of my current adsl modem, and i just put a wireless pci card ( that came with hardware as a free gift) in the 2nd pc, and start to set up.

but ive found out today i think i maybe totally off the mark here, i raised a ticket hopeing they would shed some light for me, they say i need a totally new seperate adsl modem (one that has extra connectors,that would connect to this wireless router i now have).

so really just to get things off and running, i plan to have my first attempt at this in the next few days, so really all i need as of now,is somebody to take a quick look at the link above, and indeed tell me what i do or do not need to get going.

(i am guessing ill be back later for the actuall connection problems Cheesy )
but for now guys, really do need things clarifiying for me.

much apricated for any help.
julian
N/A

I dont think this router has a built in ADSL modem so it needs an external modem.