cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

bt 1800hg wireless router help

N/A

Hi, i have purchased a 2wire bt 1800 wireless router & cant seem to set it up?
I have it running & recognising my network & tells me the upload & download rate correct.
It cant find the internet.
Does anyone have any info on setting this up at all as im quite new to routers but literate in ip setup?
10 REPLIES
Community Veteran

Where did you get it from - ebay perhaps?

Those kinds of routers are normally supplied with BT business connections and is normally locked to BT - i.e. it is preconfigured to only connect to a BT connection. This means it is going to be very difficult to use it on another ISP.

It needs a correct activation code to enable things like being able to enter your connection details or ISP logon information, which is generally not available.

You could look here where someone was able to find an activation code that worked for them but it may not work for you.

Also google for a firmware upgrade which may unlock it. 4.25.19 seems to be the one you need but I have no idea where to get it from.

http://colt.dnsalias.net/2wire/index.php may be a place to start
N/A

Thank you for your prompt reply, i have managed to get into the config setup ok with an activation code from 2wires site for "other" isp`s.
Im wondering if its just my knowledge of setting up the details im getting wrong?
I managed to input my login & password but it seems to be having problems accessing ATM but im not sure what that is?
N/A

Update, i used the settings given on that thread you gave me & im a step closer.
I now have the router fully working & showing internet as connected with no errors.
When i click on my firefox browser i get no internet pages showing, it just refuses to even access google?
Any ideas? Sad
Community Veteran

open a dos/cmd window and post the results of ipconfig/all

Is Windows set-up to obtain its IP address automatically or have you set a static IP?