cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problems With Belkin Router/Modem Dropping Connection.

N/A

I have got a desktop PC wired to my Belkin router/modem (F5D7632uk4A)and a laptop running wirelessly from it too. The wireless part is fine but I am occassionally losing my internet connection on both (I mainly use the desktop). I tried dropping the MTU that I read on here somewhere, from it's default setting of around 1440 to 1400, this seems to have helped a little. I think I have it setup correctly. PPOA, VM LUX, VPI 0, VCI 38 (or maybe other way round), and have everything else set automatically by the ISP. I think I may ring Belkin for some ideas as I am very new to this.

I am also having some problems using Bit Tornado, I am not a heavy user, couldn't be with PN :roll: But basically this program is saying that I am firewalled and as such it is working very slowly. This is despite having the firewall disabled on the router. I have even tried enabling it and setting up ports as described on portforward.com, but still just the same issues. I am tempted to go back to a USB modem as I really cannot be bothered with the grief. Just wondered if anybody had any thoughts please?
8 REPLIES
N/A

What account are you on as the lower accounts have an idle timeout on them? Secondly does your router have a setting for idle time out as a lot do. That would cause it.

If you are forwarding ports you must have a fixed ip on the pc you are forwarding to not a dynamic one. On most routers you have to save and reboot the rooter for it to work.

Port forwarding is nothing to do with the firewall(it can indirectly)
N/A

Re: Problems With Belkin Router/Modem Dropping Connection.