cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Netgear DG834G setup

N/A

Netgear DG834G setup

Hi everyone. I'm new to broadband (my eschange in the wilds of west wales has only just been upgraded) and wireless networking and had a quick question about setup. I've bought a Netgear DG834G (with free wireless USB connector at Amazon at the moment) and the install instructions say connect it to the PC via the RJ45 cable and then to the ADSL connection. As my PC is going to be in another room and connected via wireless can I do the initial setup via wireless or do I have to take my PC down to the router to do the setup?
8 REPLIES
markjeffs

Netgear DG834G setup

no if you install the wireless card on your pc and then power up the router you should be able to get into the router via a browser using 192.168.0.1 and the user admin and the password being password.. once your in that way you can then set up your DSL connection and also set any WEP keys that you need ...

then your ready to roll
N/A

Netgear DG834G setup

Thanks for the reply - just one question - what's a WEP key? Shockedops:
N/A

Netgear DG834G setup

Wireless Encryption Protocol

Without it the data you send wirelessly between your PC and the router is not encrypted so theoretically (although it is pretty unlikely to happen) someone can snoop on this info. It can be cracked now, but it does remove the risk of random snooping. I would always always have it set, it takes no time at all and there are basically no downsides to it.

The Netgear manuals are pretty comprehensive so I'd suggest putting an hour aside and ploughing through them. There is a LOT of config you can do on that router to make your surfing safer.

Cheers,
J.
N/A

Netgear DG834G setup

When in the Router Config - Wireless Settings page, to the right you will see an explaination of the different Encryption and security protocols.