cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connecting through a router...

N/A

Well, seeing as it's nearly impossible to get through to Plus.net via phone anymore... Wink

I recently bought a Belkin Wireless G Desktop card and inherited a BT Voyager 2091 so I can... hopefully... connect my desktop wirelessly to plusnet through the router. BUT... for the life of me I can't figure out how to do it. Plusnet only seem to provide help for the BT public access hotspots but not any FAQ's for configuring a basic wireless setup to their network, so I'm begging anyone who can help to take pity! Smiley

Many thanks in advance.

Ben B
3 REPLIES
N/A

Re: Connecting through a router...

Plusnet only seem to provide help for the BT public access hotspots but not any FAQ's for configuring a basic wireless setup to their network, so I'm begging anyone who can help to take pity! Smiley

I'll give it a try Ben, although I've no experience with the Voyager router so any advice I offer will be generic. Basically it's a two-step process; first get the router connecting to the ISP and tranferring data, then get the wireless stuff connecting to the router. It's much easier to use a wired connection between router and PC initially as you'll have to do some setup on the router to enable the wireless anyway. Once that side is operating okay, install and configure the wireless adapter.

Have a read of these two links.
http://portal.plus.net/support/broadband/help_and_setup/setup_guides/
http://portal.plus.net/support/broadband/help_and_setup/networking.shtml

Although there's no specific guide to setting up the 2091 one of the other Voyagers should be sufficiently similar to illustrate what info goes where (he says with fingers crossed!) in order to get your router up and running. Setting up a wireless adapter is a bit more complicated in that there are drivers to install and more to configure, which is why I suggest tackling the job one step at a time.