cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Choosing a wireless kit - where do I start?

vitasw

We are regular web users on a PC at home but now we have someone staying with us who wants to use a wireless network from his laptop. He suggests we get a router and modem combined because this works better.

I am almost a complete newbie at this and don't even know what info I will need to choose and use a wireless network. :?

Can anyone help? I need a step by step guide or know where to go for one.
9 REPLIES
N/A

Hi there,

Welcome to the forums.

You may find this configurator from Netgear, helpful.

Answer a few questions and it will give you an indication of which products you need.

Any queries, just post back. Smiley
N/A

I wouldnt recommend the BT Voyager 2110. Refer to my postings on the subject.
xon
Grafter

Wireless routers?

Depends a bit on the depth of your pocket and what functionality you want. I've listed some URL's of routers (£400 ish to very little indeed) below:-

Cisco
3Com
Draytek
Netgear
D-Link
Belkin

You may need to consider whether or not you need a:-
print server
voice over IP ports

You may also need to consider :-
security (WEP or WPA)
speed (how fast is your connection likely to get)
location in your house (BT master socket position)

Personally I have done remote technical support on Cisco + 3Com routers both of which have product ranges which are very good but perhaps a little confusing and complicated but very configurable. My personal favourite is Draytek which I have installed + operated at my house as well as installed in other peoples houses; they are bullet proof. Also I have installed Netgear wireless routers elsewhere with some success. I guess it comes down to you get what you pay for AND you need to be at least interested enough to rtfm (read the flippin manual)
Cheesy
vitasw