cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

wireless, wired, or just WEIRED...!

Community Veteran
Posts: 17,017
Thanks: 1,213
Fixes: 13
Registered: 06-11-2007

wireless, wired, or just WEIRED...!

Ok... I have been out all day today... about 15 miles from home... and I know EXACTLY where I was at lunchtime....
My laptop was switched off at the mains socket... and on the laptop power switch...
and yet... it seems... I did a couple of "My Broadband speed tests"....
Quote

Today 12:36 6932 kbps (867kB/s) 1014 kbps (127kB/s)
Today 12:15 6898 kbps (862kB/s) 977 kbps (122kB/s)

It is normally "wireless" connected too !... and normally I get around 10 to 12 megs for my speed results... 
Weired or what  ? ? ? ? ?
9 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,181
Thanks: 19
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: wireless, wired, or just WEIRED...!

Assuming its a windows laptop, what does the event viewer show for that time?
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
Community Veteran
Posts: 17,017
Thanks: 1,213
Fixes: 13
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: wireless, wired, or just WEIRED...!

assuming I know how to find that  Cheesy  Roll eyes 
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,181
Thanks: 19
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: wireless, wired, or just WEIRED...!

It is in the Control Panel/Admin tools.  Look in the windows logs / application section for winlogon near those times, If it has then well someone started it
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
Community Veteran
Posts: 17,017
Thanks: 1,213
Fixes: 13
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: wireless, wired, or just WEIRED...!

The only thing I have showing in <Control Panel > Administrative Tools > is
Quote

shortcut to " Windows PowerShell Modules "


Using Windows Vista Home Premium
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,181
Thanks: 19
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: wireless, wired, or just WEIRED...!

Not sure if Vista home has it but try eventvwr.msc from startbar/run,  I always have at least Pro on my pc's so it might  not be included on Home
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,307
Thanks: 972
Fixes: 57
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: wireless, wired, or just WEIRED...!

At the request of Shutter - thread moved to Windows Software
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,442
Thanks: 688
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: wireless, wired, or just WEIRED...!

Are you on a fixed or variable IP? If it's variable the history of speed tests is probably picking up tests run by someone who is now on an IP you've used previously. It's supposed to account for that but I've never been convinced...
If you run a new speed test yourself does it still show the spurious results?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,019
Thanks: 539
Fixes: 9
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: wireless, wired, or just WEIRED...!

Sounds to me like someone piggy backed your wifi and helped themselves. They got a crap connection speed so ran a speed test.
I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!
Community Veteran
Posts: 17,017
Thanks: 1,213
Fixes: 13
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: wireless, wired, or just WEIRED...!

@jim   Thanks
@ Gus....your < eventvwr.msc >  worked... nothing showing on the event logs between 0835 and 1610  (shut down and boot up)...  did not expect it too, as no-one else at home all day either !.
@ jelv.... don`t know about IP whether fixed or not.!...
@sprite.... don`t think so, as it is security keyword protected.
Just one of those "weird" things... not particularly worried about it... so thanks for the help guys.. Wink
just done a speed test
Quote

Date ........ Download Speed .......... Upload Speed
Today 14:54 12929 kbps (1.62MB/s) 363 kbps (45.4kB/s)

no other speed tests showing for today!.... ( I use ccleaner every night at shut down so previous days are lost)...