cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

wireless channel choice

Community Veteran
Posts: 17,025
Thanks: 1,218
Fixes: 13
Registered: 06-11-2007

wireless channel choice

My wireless connection is set on Channel 1...... looking at inSSIDer, ... I can see it has 2 others on same channel....  ch 1 covers 1,2& 3  My sig level is 30 .... other two are 70 and 80 respectively
the next group of 5 stations is centered on chan 6 , so covers 4,5,6,7 & 8  these have much lower sig levels ( max is 80)
the next group of 3 stations centred on channel 11 ( all sky boxes) . covering 9,10,11,12 & 13 ( highest available channel) ( sig rating max of 60) 
So, would I be better off changing to channel 6 , or opting for an overlap on either 5 or 7

those on channel 6 seem to be giving the lowest signal level, ( if I were to try and connect, I suspect they would report out of range, they are so low)... 
4 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,729
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: wireless channel choice

From those figures I would suggest you try channel 6.
It is always best not to overlap channels. As when two networks are on the same channel and in range they can co-operate. Where as overlapping can cause issues without the benefits of co-operation.
If possible switch to the 5GHz `a` band. As there is much less interference. And as the signal does not travel so far fewer other networks.
Community Veteran
Posts: 17,025
Thanks: 1,218
Fixes: 13
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: wireless channel choice

Thanks for the reply..... will go to chan 6.....  I don`t think the Tecnicolour 582n has 5Ghz...... at least, no signals are being shown on inSSIDer on 5Ghz... ! so assume it is not available.
maranello
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 939
Thanks: 75
Fixes: 1
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: wireless channel choice

Is it advisable to manually select a wireless channel other than 1, 6 or 11?

I set my router up to use channel 13, and AFAIK this hasn't been problem, but would this be detrimental compared to 1, 6 or 11?

My other car isn't a Ferrari
PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,077
Thanks: 44
Fixes: 3
Registered: 05-04-2009

Re: wireless channel choice

Only if you have Dell products Crazy3 My printer will not use channels 12 and 13.

I use channel 13 and have not noticed any (other) problems.

Phil

Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link TD-W9980 modem-router.