cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

windows 7

Community Veteran
Posts: 8,396
Thanks: 892
Fixes: 9
Registered: 02-08-2007

windows 7

Which is the better option to go for in Windows 7............. 32 or 64 version and why you would go for that version ?
17 REPLIES
Steve
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 6,802
Thanks: 305
Registered: 13-07-2009

Re: windows 7

I use 32 bit windows seven,64 is still a bugga with some drivers.
If life gives you lemons, make lemonade.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: windows 7

I went for 64 bit as I have 4GB of RAM and 512MB video ram (soon to be 1GB) and 32 bit really limits the available RAM - with 1GB of video RAM only about 2.5GB left
I have had no problem with any driver in Windows 7 64 bit and Vista 64 bit
matt_2k34
Grafter
Posts: 1,300
Registered: 09-07-2007

Re: windows 7

64bit for me on both laptop and desktop
(3gig ram in laptop, +512mb graphics, desktop 12gig ram, 1.5gig video ram)
Had no issues with drivers whatsoever - theres *many* drivers available that are 64 bit...
Please note: you DONT need 64bit for more than 4gb of RAM available in 32 bit (Oldjim its worth remembering you can use PAE, which will address all available over 4gig, however it is not as quick as the OS being able to address it directly!) Smiley

(some people dont tell you that it will work, however if they make an XP64 bit driver or Vista 64bit driver, then these **usually** work on win7) Smiley
(edit: an example, i have a 'creative webcam instant' on my desktop, They discontinued it after making an XP x64 driver, installing this driver in compatability mode - this works on both Vista and Win7 64bit - its not 100% guaranteed, but it is likely Smiley )
edit #2: make sure your CPU supports a 64bit extension (else you could end up with an OS which wont run anyway) Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: 02-02-2008

Re: windows 7

64-bit is the future and drivers are generally available, at least for most "newish" stuff (and lots of older stuff too).
You only need 32-bit if you REALLY MUST have peripherals with only 32-bit drivers.
That said, there are still some wrinkles on more "exotic" devices so if there's something really important to you check it out first.
Steve
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 6,802
Thanks: 305
Registered: 13-07-2009

Re: windows 7

User Deleted..Ranting about windows vista and this thread's about windows 7.
If life gives you lemons, make lemonade.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: 02-02-2008

Re: windows 7

Steve74, what planet are you on? Or should I say when?
New PC's have Windows 7 on (not Vista), and ALL (I really mean ALL) the ones I've seen (a fair few by now) have the 64-bit version.
The only 32-bit W7 I've ever seen installed was a pre-release I installed myself for testing.
W1ngD1ngs
Grafter
Posts: 215
Registered: 17-09-2009

Re: windows 7

HPSauce, I bought my PC new with W7 32 bit installed but with 32 and 64 disks supplied!
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: windows 7

mine is a couple of month old medion Media centre
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: windows 7

W1ngD1ngs
Grafter
Posts: 215
Registered: 17-09-2009

Re: windows 7

And mine pierre_pierre, except I got the quad core and the twin hot removable drive bays!  Grin
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,112
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: windows 7

Quote from: Dawnrider
HPSauce, I bought my PC new with W7 32 bit installed but with 32 and 64 disks supplied!

I reckon that could be because the 32 bit version is probably on the recovery partition and the 64 bit disc is for if you want to change to 64 bit.
I bought a couple of retail Win 7 packs and both came with two discs, one 32 bit and one 64 bit.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: 02-02-2008

Re: windows 7

Indeed, Microsoft announced long ago that the license would allow either version and that media would be supplied for both.
I guess some manufacturers are being cautious about drivers so are pre-installing 32-bit (for now?), though as yet I've not seen one like that.
severedsolo
Grafter
Posts: 97
Registered: 09-03-2010

Re: windows 7

i have used the 32 bit enterprise trial, but i am now using 64 bit and *touch wood* havent had any driver issues yet, my only "gripe" as such is the fact that the 32 bit version seems to run vista drivers straight out of the box, wheras with 64 bit you have to remember to install in compatibility mode with some stuff, and there is no way to tell which ones until you do it, its completely random, so far i have had a brand new network adapter and a brand new phone refuse the drivers unless installed in compatibility mode, but an old printer which hasnt had new drivers released since 2007 took them first time, bit of a PITA as once it fails it wont reinstall in compatibility mode unless you purge all record of it from the registry,
anyway after that little monologue, you might as well go 64 bit as 32 bit is a dying animal, word on the grapevine is "windows 8" (or whatever they decide to call it) will be 64bit and 128 bit
oh and use a 32 bit browser, as there are alot of missing plugins for 64 bit, like flash and silverlight
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: windows 7

Quote from: severedsolo
oh and use a 32 bit browser, as there are a lot of missing plugins for 64 bit, like flash and silverlight
Now there is a good reason for going 64 bit all by itself  Grin