cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

win 10 & multiple monitors

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,827
Thanks: 44
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎24-09-2008

win 10 & multiple monitors

Anyone managed to get more than 2 monitors working with win 10?
9 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: ‎02-02-2008

Re: win 10 & multiple monitors

Yup been watching TV full-screen on my 2nd monitor this afternoon. And in a window at times.
Well partly TV (Hauppauge tuner) and partly iPlayer.
Nvidia GeForce 8600GTS video card. 2* DVI.
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,533
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: win 10 & multiple monitors

HP sauce ,, been some time since i had a 8600 gts  Wink
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: ‎02-02-2008

Re: win 10 & multiple monitors

Just what I had kicking around, does the job I need. PC is quite old too.
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,827
Thanks: 44
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎24-09-2008

Re: win 10 & multiple monitors

Thanks HP, I have 3 graphics cards with 2 monitors on each card.
I can either get 1 monitor on each card working or 2 monitors on 1 card, can't get them all working together.
The cards are NVIDIA Geforce 210 1 x DVI 1 x VGA on each card, I've 'updated the driver software.
The system is used for monitoring various ground  stations and just ticks away hardly used in anger
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: ‎02-02-2008

Re: win 10 & multiple monitors

Sorry, can't help with multiple cards.
What I have found is that the W10 multi-monitor controls are a bit rubbish and using the Nvidia Control Panel to activate/retire secondary monitors is 100% effective.
The W10 system doesn't even detect a "sleeping" monitor, it's carp!
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,894
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎20-10-2012

Re: win 10 & multiple monitors

Using a pair of monitors since day one on Win10 here. Video card is an old(ish) ATI Radeon HD 4600!  Cheesy
Geoff,
York.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,827
Thanks: 44
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎24-09-2008

Re: win 10 & multiple monitors

thanks all, ............... have rolled back to win 7 Embarrassed
Community Veteran
Posts: 18,036
Thanks: 1,696
Fixes: 20
Registered: ‎06-11-2007

Re: win 10 & multiple monitors

Quote from: journeys

have rolled back to win 7 Embarrassed

A couple of old sayings..... K I S S....    Keep It Simple Stupid !.... and    best of all..... " If it ain`t broke........ don`t fix it " ! ! ! ...  Wink
nanotm
Pro
Posts: 5,728
Thanks: 124
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎11-02-2013

Re: win 10 & multiple monitors

the problem is your using dvi & vga, you need to use all of them the same because your running it across multiple cards.
your best bet if you do want to modernise would be to upgrade to something that gives you all dvi outputs (gfx cards that is) and iirc there are a lot of older units that do it the 8600gt being one of the many cheap old cards that comes (from some manufacturers) with dual dvi outputs, that would then work with w10, although next time you think about doing the upgrade might I suggest you clone the drive of the current pc and use a second box to test it with, especially since your going to need to upgrade the monitors for it to work anyway /
just because your paranoid doesn't mean they aren't out to get you