cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

web browser

JamesM
Grafter
Posts: 1,103
Registered: ‎24-06-2009

web browser

I don't want to start a flame war here, but I have always used internet explorer (apart from Netscape many moons ago). The problem I am having is I have just gone to Win 8.1 and for some reason Battlelog (for BF4) needs a plug in, but the plug in will not work with IE 11 (security reasons). So I am thinking about another browser. Are there any pros and cons for say Chrome, FF or any other recommendations.
Thanks for reading.
10 REPLIES
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,532
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: web browser

James, i have always Used Firefox  Cool and never have problems with anything  Cool
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,807
Thanks: 1,991
Fixes: 256
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: web browser

I switched to Chrome for a variety of reasons, but one being the bloat of firefox.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,887
Thanks: 128
Fixes: 24
Registered: ‎14-07-2009

Re: web browser

Chrome will feed you adverts based on your past history of sites visited.  If you don't mind that or you install the Adblock extension then it's fine.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,807
Thanks: 1,991
Fixes: 256
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: web browser

Yup, use adblock and and ghostery...

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

JamesM
Grafter
Posts: 1,103
Registered: ‎24-06-2009

Re: web browser

I did a bit of reading, and read FF is the reincarnation of Netscape, so I gave it a try and BF4 is now working again.
Thanks for all your advice.
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,532
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: web browser

must admit i wasnt impressed when i tried Chrome Sad
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
SuperZoom
Grafter
Posts: 353
Registered: ‎17-05-2013

Re: web browser

Quote from: dvorak
I switched to Chrome for a variety of reasons, but one being the bloat of firefox.


On Windows, Pale Moon is an FF alternative, built from the same source code, which can help with that...
2u2me
Pro
Posts: 326
Thanks: 80
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎27-09-2013

Re: web browser

Switched from FF to Chrome a while back, no adverts with AaBlock installed, also remove all the flash from my PC`s as its aready in Chrome.
drj
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,104
Thanks: 43
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎30-03-2011

Re: web browser

The major problem with Firefox - at least the way it's set up on my XP machine with the extensions I want - is it's a real memory hog! Starts at around 250K but left open will rise to over 1GB. On a machine with 2GB of RAM (expanded from the original 256K) that's an unacceptable amount of space being used up.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,458
Thanks: 2,835
Fixes: 226
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: web browser

On my 16GB RAM PC (Windows 7 Pro 64bit) it usually starts very low then gradually creeps up to a little over 2GB. I notice that web browsing starts to become sluggish at around around 1.5GB as well as Explorer also seems to be affected.
Quitting FF solves the issue till the next time Sad

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still