cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

turning a TG585 into a switch?!?

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,985
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 3
Registered: 01-08-2007

turning a TG585 into a switch?!?

I am running out of ports on my 585V6.  I was going to buy a switch, but I do have a TG585V7 unused.  Is it possible to turn this into a switch?  I would have thought if I turned off wireless, and DHCP, and gave it a fixed IP, thats consistent with my LAN, and my V6, that it may work.  Also can the Modem be turned off as well?  If this is indeed possible, or I buy a switch, I presume I would need crossover cable, or do newer switches sense this and make crossover cable redundant?Huh
5 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,686
Thanks: 1,943
Fixes: 247
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: turning a TG585 into a switch?!?

I have an a port version of this, no crossover cable required.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,985
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 3
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: turning a TG585 into a switch?!?

Adie
I was going to get one of these http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Edimax-ES-3105P-5-port-RJ45-10-100M-Desktop-Switch, and bung it in my Networking Cupboard.  Feel its probably easier in retrospect than fiddling with the router, and if my v6 dies, ive still got a router I can use.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,686
Thanks: 1,943
Fixes: 247
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: turning a TG585 into a switch?!?

Yeah that looks fine, nice price too  Smiley

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: 07-04-2007

Re: turning a TG585 into a switch?!?

This is how to turn a linksys router running dd-wrt firmware into a switch. May give you some pointers.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,985
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 3
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: turning a TG585 into a switch?!?

Ta chaps.
Will probably keep the router as a router, and buy the Switch.