Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

try connecting mobile phone to modem

Fenster
Rising Star
Fixes: 2

try connecting mobile phone to modem

Hi I am trying to connect my mobile phone - tmobile vivacity - to my D-link DSL 2640B modem so I can use the internet on my phone with its wifi instead of 3G. The phone 'sees' my modems SSID but will not connect because it says the modem is Disabled protected with WPA/WPA2 PSK. Don't know if this is relevant but I use ethernet homeplugs for my computer. I asked Tmobile and they don't know why I can't connect either. My phone doesn't ask for a password to connect to the modem either.  Sad
14 REPLIES 14
Oldjim
Resting Legend
Fixes: 63

Re: try connecting mobile phone to modem

Check the router settings - it sounds as though it is set up to block any new wireless connections
Fenster
Rising Star

I have checked around by logging in to my modem and can't see anything obvious but I'm no expert.
Ok I've checked again under 'Wireless Lan' and it says 'Wireless Radio ON'
don't know if that is it.
Fenster
Rising Star

Oldjim
Resting Legend

Have a look under Advanced Wireless Settings
There should be an option for MAC filtering - the options are Disabled, Allow, Deny - it should be set to "Disabled" (This option may not be there as it applies to only some of the firmwares)
Another thing to try is to change the WPA password to one only 8 characters long
Fenster
Rising Star

Firmware version:  3.06
Current Firmware Date:  June 2  2007
I can't see anything for MAC filtering, there are inbound and outbound filters but no options set for them.
My WPA password is already 8 characters long. My PSK though is 63 characters long, I hope that's not the problem.
Oldjim
Resting Legend

According to my router the WPA-PSK Security Encryption key is the one I am talking about so I don't know why you have two keys
Fenster
Rising Star