Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

transfer broadband to new computer?

Highlighted
Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

transfer broadband to new computer?

Hi I am thinking of getting a new computer and I know this is a dumb question but how do I transfer the broadband to my new computer I still have the set up disc from when I connected to plusnet in 05 do I just load this?? thanks ajay
13 REPLIES
Member
Posts: 10,347
Thanks: 149
Fixes: 8
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: transfer broadband to new computer?

There is no set-up disk.

Community Veteran
Posts: 6,734
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎02-02-2008

Re: transfer broadband to new computer?

Could be if it's a USB modem.
What make & model is the box that connects your PC to the filter in the phone socket?
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,486
Registered: ‎02-10-2008

Re: transfer broadband to new computer?

Maybe add a new router then, USB modems are inferior to a connections directly into the PC's Ethernet port which is on the vast majority of new PC's if not all.

- then as Taxi... says - you just plug the Ethernet cable from PC to router, and run the Windows network set up .

Community Veteran
Posts: 37,528
Thanks: 534
Fixes: 43
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: transfer broadband to new computer?

Two things.
If you intend to stay with Plusnet you could get a router for the cost of the postage
A new computer will come with Windows 7 and it will find the router automatically and I think that the Plusnet router is preconfigured and will automatically connect
Moderator Moderator
Posts: 24,703
Thanks: 691
Fixes: 29
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: transfer broadband to new computer?

@ajay It's not a dumb question. Smiley
If you don't know, you ask and in here's one of the best places to do so Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,486
Registered: ‎02-10-2008

Re: transfer broadband to new computer?

Quote from: Oldjim
the Plusnet router is preconfigured and will automatically connect

Yes - they do have this easy set up feature
http://community.plus.net/blog/2009/08/06/router-setup-the-easy-way/
Some of us here were part of the trials before it went live - it works well .

Member
Posts: 10,347
Thanks: 149
Fixes: 8
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: transfer broadband to new computer?

It doesn't need a special pre-configuration.
Routers include a friendly web interface for configuration purposes (a router contains its own processor and memory etc).
It also contains a firewall, to help protect PC's with flabby security. Cheesy

Community Veteran
Posts: 4,563
Thanks: 54
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎14-07-2009

Re: transfer broadband to new computer?

Ajay, not to beat about the bush:
If you have a router then no set-up is required - just connect a cable from your router to the new computer
If you have a modem (or any other device that uses a USB connector) then you are faced with some difficulty.  A disk supplied in 2005 will not have suitable USB drivers for a new computer.
If you don't know whether it's a modem or a router post whatever part number it has and we will tell you.
Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Re: transfer broadband to new computer?

Thanks for all the help, I have raised a the question with tech support and my old router is not compatible with windows 7 so , I am waiting for a new router, hope it comes soon as the new computer is raring to go !! ajay
Member
Posts: 10,347
Thanks: 149
Fixes: 8
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: transfer broadband to new computer?

Then it wasn't a router.
It was some bit of cheap USB junk. Cheesy

Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Re: transfer broadband to new computer?

router was supplied by plusnet in 2005 Huh hope the new one they supply  wont be judged as badly ?? ajay
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,734
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎02-02-2008

Re: transfer broadband to new computer?

Technology moves on apace. Broadband 4 or 5 years ago was very different to now.
It almost certainly isn't actually a router as modern PC's will talk happily to almost any router.
It's more likely to be an ADSL modem with a USB connection to the PC.
In January 2005 I was still on a fixed 512kbps ADSL connection with a USB device, now I'm running a Netgear router on a 21mbps ADSL2+ line. 40 times faster downloads!
Member
Posts: 10,347
Thanks: 149
Fixes: 8
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: transfer broadband to new computer?

I had broadband (512 kbps) Cheesy in 2001 Smiley
This was before I'd ever heard of USB - I had a 1 port (ethernet) router.