cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

sp-3

firefly2
Grafter
Posts: 265
Registered: 16-11-2007

sp-3

update sp-3 awaiting to be downloaded. went into "things you should know before etc"  and there seems to be problems for some...  listed errors a mile long....
have space > 30.0 GB available.
can any-one tell me benefit of  sp-3 pack please ... currently have sp-2  on XP H/E. thanks in advance  Undecided oh and if i should proceed.. how long does the download take ..
27 REPLIES
Njal
Grafter
Posts: 290
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: sp-3

From MS:
"Windows® XP Service Pack 3 (SP3) includes all previously released updates for the operating system. This update also includes a small number of new functionalities, which do not significantly change customers’ experience with the operating system. This white paper summarizes what is new in Windows XP SP3."
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=68C48DAD-BC34-40BE-8D85-6BB4F56F5110&displa...
It's about a 500MB file, time to download will obviously depend on how fast your connection is!
Regards,
Neil
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: sp-3

it depends on the status of your current config, my download is only 69mb, but if you only have 30m free you cant do it, or did you mean your download would be 30M Crazy
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,229
Thanks: 1
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: sp-3

OP said he has "> 30 GB" available pierre_pierre Smiley
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: sp-3

whoops
firefly2
Grafter
Posts: 265
Registered: 16-11-2007

Re: sp-3

Thanks all. actually have 39.0  gb free says in boot "c" drive. won't be causing me any probs then Huh? only on op 1 so download will be slow. [am a she by the way.] cautious about downloading things that may  leave me in a mess. okay to go ahead Huh? thanks for the site ref Njal. may as well download after twelve. hope that it is painless.  Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,229
Thanks: 1
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: sp-3

Quote from: firefly2
[am a she by the way.]

whoops
[quote=firefly2]okay to go ahead?
probably. there have been mixed experiences but I'm guessing most have been OK.
Make sure you back up first.
paul
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,342
Thanks: 1,680
Fixes: 189
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: sp-3

Most of the issues have been caused by upgrading PCs with AMD processors, I have have however upgraded my intel and amd boxes with no issues at all.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: sp-3

just done my 69m update took a total of 45 min to download and install on a 6mb connection no problems as yet Tongue
firefly2
Grafter
Posts: 265
Registered: 16-11-2007

Re: sp-3

thanks for all of the replies. what a smashing bunch you are. I disabled the AVG and clicked to download and nothing happened. it flashed off into the great beyond.  are well perhaps may get offered again. at the mo' it doesn't seem as if it will be important for the works. Smiley
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: sp-3

I know its a difficult route, but.
a)click the start button
b)then all programs
c)at the top of the opened pane click windows update
this "Might" offer you the sp3 update, but should get you to do a few others, the more you do the smaller sp3 becomes
Then a scan of your PC will take place, have patience, it might take 10 min or more.
I didnt switch of my firewall (Zonealarm) or antvirus (avgCool  - make sure you have the latest Zonealarm if you are using it, there has been a bad clash recently
firefly2
Grafter
Posts: 265
Registered: 16-11-2007

Re: sp-3

thank-you Pierre_Pierre for advice. is the zone alarm with AVG //Huh everything was with Norton when i had that. only have AVG free . will investigate  thank-you..
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: sp-3

no, in the last month a MS upgrade fouled up Zonealarm and it was impossible to connect, last week Zonealarm issued an upgrade to cure the problem
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,345
Thanks: 685
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: sp-3

Is there actually any point upgrading to SP3?
I'm on SP2 without updates (no lectures please!) and so far hunky dorey for a long time!
I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: sp-3

dont really know, I thought some people said it would be quicker, not noticed it so must be insignificant.