cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

soc123.com, logmein123.com, logmeinrescue.com phone call scam.

pozi
Dabbler

soc123.com, logmein123.com, logmeinrescue.com phone call scam.

I am hoping it is not related to recently changing my home phone to plus.net but I have been rung 3 times today by a company claiming to be working with Microsoft and asking to fix problems with my PC.
Even though I am registered with the TPS I still get the occasional nuisance call trying to sell me some rubbish or another but today was a bit different, the script goes something like this;
It is an international call and via a scratchy phone line someone introduces themselves as being from Techhelp Online or Support on Click and they are calling because my computer was running slow and they had been notified by Microsoft. They then asked to confirm my address which while actually correct I told him it was wrong and gave the details of my local police station.
Now I am an IT Manager by profession so this was were I became even more suspicious, first he asked me if I was running XP or Vista to which I replied Windows 3.11, he was a little phased but once he had established that I had the Windows logo on my keyboard he proceeded to run through his script and told me to use Start > Run and open Event Viewer. The 2nd call it was the prefetch directory.
Apparently every entry in Event Viewer or file in Prefetch is because my PC was infected with viruses and this was the computer telling me I had a problem, he then proceeded to reel off a list of Anti Virus vendors and offered to pass me across to a Microsoft Technical Engineer who would connect to my PC and fix the issues for me.