cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

server not found (Solved)

gleneagles
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 11,105
Thanks: 2,552
Fixes: 17
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

server not found (Solved)

I have been trying to get on the extra energy website at www.extraenergy.com for several hours but simply get the message ' server not found'

If a website is down from a company would you not just get some logo or message to say it was down rather than a, server not found message' ?

We are born into history and history is born into us.
18 REPLIES 18
Mav
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 21,662
Thanks: 4,459
Fixes: 504
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: server not found

I have just been able to access their site and get a quote.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,149
Thanks: 827
Fixes: 73
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: server not found

It works OK for me.

Could it be a gateway or IP issue?

ITWorks
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 2,052
Thanks: 723
Fixes: 8
Registered: ‎05-11-2008

Re: server not found

Works fine for me.

You may already know , extra energy , one one of the most complained about companies, record complaints.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-36704301

http://business-reporter.co.uk/2016/07/05/extra-energy-investigation-soaring-customer-complaints/ 

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

HairyMcbiker
All Star
Posts: 6,792
Thanks: 266
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: server not found

Working for me as well.
Check with
http://isup.me
HairyMcbiker
All Star
Posts: 6,792
Thanks: 266
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: server not found

PN should take note of:
"aims to reduce call waiting time to an average of 45 seconds" Not 45MIN
gleneagles
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 11,105
Thanks: 2,552
Fixes: 17
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Re: server not found

Thanks for the responses,

I could get into every other web site on my desktop and tablet but not this particular one,

Will try again and be back for more advice if I am unable to access it.

Must admit I am a customer of their's so need access to see my bills, no problems with them so far, just hope it keeps that way.

We are born into history and history is born into us.
gleneagles
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 11,105
Thanks: 2,552
Fixes: 17
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Re: server not found

Still not able to access it, seems odd as every other website is ok.

Starting from fresh rather than a link I still cannot access it.

Anyone any ideas ?

A tablet using android or desktop using linux along with  several search engines, google, firefox etc but still cannot access it.

We are born into history and history is born into us.
Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,149
Thanks: 827
Fixes: 73
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: server not found

Which gateway are you on, and what's your IP address? Have you tried changing either?

HairyMcbiker
All Star
Posts: 6,792
Thanks: 266
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: server not found

try using the ip rather than the url
http://91.194.180.99

Might be a dns problem.
gleneagles
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 11,105
Thanks: 2,552
Fixes: 17
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Re: server not found

Not sure what you mean by 'gateway'......as I am not well up on these things.

Tried 91.194.180.99 but just get the message....' This site can't be reached, the server address could not be found.

I cannot understand why this is the only site I cannot access, I have had no problems in accessing this previously.

Would turning off both modem and router for a few minutes resolve it or has that nothing to do with it ?

We are born into history and history is born into us.
gleneagles
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 11,105
Thanks: 2,552
Fixes: 17
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Re: server not found

After fiddling around for a bit I went into settings and cleared the cache in google, chrome & firefox, that seems to have done the trick.

Thanks for the suggestions.

We are born into history and history is born into us.
Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,149
Thanks: 827
Fixes: 73
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: server not found

There have been several posts on here about people having similar issues, a lot with issues using some new IP addresses acquired from other BT Group companies based elsewhere. You can check the gateway here and your IP just by typing whats my IP in Google.

Yes, rebooting your router may change both the Gateway and the IP, but make a note of both before you do, and check again after, at least then you will know if its made a difference. If you are on the new network, it may require leaving the router off for a while, until someone else picks up your old one, but even then it may not work as well.

 

Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,149
Thanks: 827
Fixes: 73
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: server not found

Ah, glad you got it sorted.

Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,595
Thanks: 985
Fixes: 54
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: server not found

Interesting that you've got it sorted as I have just tried using default DNS settings and I couldn't access the site, changed my network adapter to use Google DNS and it worked...

Go figure.