cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

port 80 in use

netreg
Grafter
Posts: 114
Registered: ‎24-08-2007

port 80 in use

Hi all,
I need some assistance please...  I use a little tool called Baby Web Server (v2.7.2) to run a website locally (for development purposes) and now all of a sudden when i start it using port 80 it fails.  If i change the port to say 8080 it works ok, so i am assuming that port 80 is being used/locked by something else...
i am trying to track down the something else  Undecided
I did a netstat -a (winxp home sp2) and the only thing that pops out to me is actually the first line?

Active Connections
  Proto  Local Address          Foreign Address        State
  TCP    Dell02:http            Dell02:0              LISTENING
  TCP    Dell02:epmap          Dell02:0              LISTENING
  TCP    Dell02:microsoft-ds    Dell02:0              LISTENING
  TCP    Dell02:990            Dell02:0              LISTENING
  TCP    Dell02:1042            Dell02:0              LISTENING
  TCP    Dell02:1720            Dell02:0              LISTENING
  TCP    Dell02:5060            Dell02:0              LISTENING
  TCP    Dell02:10010          Dell02:0              LISTENING
  TCP    Dell02:31038          Dell02:0              LISTENING
  TCP    Dell02:netbios-ssn    Dell02:0              LISTENING
  TCP    Dell02:netbios-ssn    Dell02:0              LISTENING
  TCP    Dell02:1025            10.0.12.10:microsoft-ds  ESTABLISHED
  TCP    Dell02:1035            mg-in-f125.google.com:5222  ESTABLISHED
  TCP    Dell02:1076            10.0.12.5:netbios-ssn  ESTABLISHED
  TCP    Dell02:1898            imap.plus.net:imap    ESTABLISHED
  TCP    Dell02:2428            10.0.12.5:9220        ESTABLISHED
  TCP    Dell02:2536            aks.com:http          TIME_WAIT
  TCP    Dell02:2710            imap.plus.net:imap    ESTABLISHED
  TCP    Dell02:3715            by2msg2104814.phx.gbl:1863  ESTABLISHED
  TCP    Dell02:netbios-ssn    Dell02:0              LISTENING
  TCP    Dell02:1048            Dell02:0              LISTENING
  TCP    Dell02:1050            localhost:1051        ESTABLISHED
  TCP    Dell02:1051            localhost:1050        ESTABLISHED
  TCP    Dell02:1052            localhost:1053        ESTABLISHED
  TCP    Dell02:1053            localhost:1052        ESTABLISHED
  TCP    Dell02:4776            localhost:4777        ESTABLISHED
  TCP    Dell02:4777            localhost:4776        ESTABLISHED
  TCP    Dell02:4926            localhost:4927        ESTABLISHED
  TCP    Dell02:4927            localhost:4926        ESTABLISHED
  TCP    Dell02:5679            Dell02:0              LISTENING
  TCP    Dell02:7438            Dell02:0              LISTENING
  TCP    Dell02:12025          Dell02:0              LISTENING
  TCP    Dell02:12080          Dell02:0              LISTENING
  TCP    Dell02:12110          Dell02:0              LISTENING
  TCP    Dell02:12119          Dell02:0              LISTENING
  TCP    Dell02:12143          Dell02:0              LISTENING
4 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,789
Registered: ‎08-06-2007

Re: port 80 in use

Try doing:
netstat -ab
This should show you the executable program associated with each port.
B.
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: port 80 in use

It might be that the app is already running and did not shut down when you stopped it last time.
Try rebooting and then seeing if the http process is still there, and if it is, troubleshoot as per Barry. Also look at your start-up folder and the start-up apps using something like spybot.
netreg
Grafter
Posts: 114
Registered: ‎24-08-2007

Re: port 80 in use

just did a netstat -ab and that isnt showing anything up against port 80...
I have rebooted several times and that didn't clear it either...  I will have a look at spybot and see if that can highlight anything.
thank you for your quick replies
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,576
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎13-04-2007

Re: port 80 in use

get tcip view free from
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb897437.aspx
thats show all your connections in real time. if you look at
http://www.pablosoftwaresolutions.com/html/baby_web_server.html ; you can see that it can be set to run at startup could this be whats happend?