cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

plusnet value and Iomega NAS network hardrive - no remote connect

r18rws
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎27-07-2010

plusnet value and Iomega NAS network hardrive - no remote connect

i moved to plusnet about a month ago, all going well until the last few days. looking for some ideas of what to try to fix my problem.
linksys router set with a dynamic ip address as on value plan. this is set to dyndns so i can connect to home via http://ipaddress or my personal url.
connected to router is an iomega NAS, network attached storage with remote access set up on it.
its stopped connected remotely now, but the dyndns url is working fine when on the network.
manual of the NAS says I need ports 20, 21 and 443 open, these were and still are set on port forward to the static ip of the NAS
when i check on websites to see if ports are open 20 is reported as closed by my ISP but the help pages say none are closed. firewall on router off, firewall on plusnet help section is off and the port closures are all turned off.
any ideas?
Thanks

Rich
15 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,366
Thanks: 15
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: plusnet value and Iomega NAS network hardrive - no remote connect

Quote from: r18rws
i moved to plusnet about a month ago, all going well until the last few days. looking for some ideas of what to try to fix my problem.

So, you moved to PN and remote access to the NAS worked for some time and then on some date this stopped working. Yes?
So something has changed, maybe with out knowing, on your devices on at PN/BT. But what?
Have you rebooted the router and NAS to see if that clears the issue? What setting do you have for https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=firewall ? Mine is set to Off.
--
3Mb FTTC
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
r18rws
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎27-07-2010

Re: plusnet value and Iomega NAS network hardrive - no remote connect

Yes all worked fine after switch to plusnet. Have firewall set to off.
Rebooted everything.
Can access inside network with ip address or the dyndns name. But not from out of network
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,366
Thanks: 15
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: plusnet value and Iomega NAS network hardrive - no remote connect

When you access the NAS remotely, is it always from just one location, e.g. where you work, it could be a routing issue from the ISP used by your company.
Do you want to give the dyndns address here and see if we get the login page, we dont need any username/password.
--
3Mb FTTC
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
r18rws
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎27-07-2010

Re: plusnet value and Iomega NAS network hardrive - no remote connect

thanks
Its from anywhere it seems to be blocked.
rws.webhop.org is the dns
I can try it on wifi on my iphone and its fine, go to the 3g and its blocked.
Cant access from anywhere else remotely either.
Seems the blocked port my be the issue but need clarity.
I try to see if the required ports are open with a web checked, canyouseeme or something liek that, and it says port 20 is blocked by your ISP. 21 and 443 are the others listed in the NAS manual and they say they are open but I never tried before the problem started so not sure if 20 has always been blocked or not!  Firewall off on router so its not that blocking the port.
Anything else to check?
Thanks
Rich
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,366
Thanks: 15
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: plusnet value and Iomega NAS network hardrive - no remote connect

Your sending the wrong IP address to dyndns, http://rws.webhop.org/ is trying to open 192.168.1.102, which is not going to work.
--
3Mb FTTC
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
r18rws
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎27-07-2010

Re: plusnet value and Iomega NAS network hardrive - no remote connect

I had thought that, but its on the dyndns site with the correct public ip address, it seems that once it hits the router on the public ip, the traffic is then passed to the NAS 192.168.1.102 but gets no reply?
Likewise if I connect at http://87.114.28.179 - currently the public ip, you get the same message, it already forwarding to the NAS ip
r18rws
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎27-07-2010

Re: plusnet value and Iomega NAS network hardrive - no remote connect

also if I change the static ip to something else on the router, the dyndns address automatically start pointing at that new ip address.
So I think the dyn dns address is getting to router, then from there its knowing the correct internal ip address for the NAS but thats when it goes wrong!
I think, Im learning as we go along but seems to make some sort of sense!
Thanks
Rich
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,366
Thanks: 15
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: plusnet value and Iomega NAS network hardrive - no remote connect

Quote from: r18rws
So I think the dyn dns address is getting to router, then from there its knowing the correct internal ip address for the NAS but thats when it goes wrong!

Right so we are getting to the router, thats not a problem. It is the port forwarding on the router which is a problem.
Does your router have a DMZ setting? If so, place the NAS address in the DMZ setting.
From a DOS prompt, type ipconfig /? ... and post the results here.
--
3Mb FTTC
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
r18rws
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎27-07-2010

Re: plusnet value and Iomega NAS network hardrive - no remote connect

tried in dmz
still appears to try to connect to the NAS but not getting to login page.
tried to take all port forwards off and set them back to 192.168.1.0 and uncheck the boxes and save tehm, hoping to clear all trace of this, and tried the public ip address and the dyndns address and both still come up as trying to connect to 192.168.1.102 in the windows address bar.
Changed the NAS static ip and put it in the DMZ and a remote attempt no gets a certificate error, accept that and try to connect and its going to the new IP set on the NAS. I guess there still needs to be port forwards?
Have then left in DMZ and tried to add the port forward to the fresh IP I set on the NAS 192.168.1.120, still see the explorer bar trying to go to the new correct ip thats assigned but never gets connected properly.
ipconfig from the pc on network shows this
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.
C:\Users\Rich Simpson>ipconfig
Windows IP Configuration

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
  Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
  Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::35cc:c756:b1f:208e%9
  IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.133
  Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
  Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection*:
  Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
  Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 2:
  Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
  IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:73ba:24a5:2119:3f57:fe7a
  Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::24a5:2119:3f57:fe7a%11
  Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
C:\Users\Rich Simpson>
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,366
Thanks: 15
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: plusnet value and Iomega NAS network hardrive - no remote connect


Try setting up a rule in port forwarding so that port 8080 is forwarded to 192.168.1.20 port 80, now what happens when you access http://rws.webhop.org:8080/ ; ?
--
3Mb FTTC
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
r18rws
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎27-07-2010

Re: plusnet value and Iomega NAS network hardrive - no remote connect

now you have lost me...thats the end of my limited knowledge LOL
I have options to forward as follows in linksys router
Single port forward
Port Range Forwarding
Port Range Triggering
DMZ
and QOS
I tried to forward external port 8080 to internal port 80 on 192.168.1.120 (the NAS static IP) still no luck. Not sure i got what you wanted me to do correctly though! That was in singel port forward.
Still got the other forwards in that same section aswell
Message is same as before on the remote system.
Still getting port 20 blocked when i go on cayouseeme. Plusnet say its not blocked though.
Coudl one port have dropped on my router, should I try another one to see if that sorts it?
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,971
Thanks: 1,001
Fixes: 61
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: plusnet value and Iomega NAS network hardrive - no remote connect

Quote
manual of the NAS says I need ports 20, 21 and 443 open

That tends to suggest that the remote access to the NAS box uses https on port 443.
I think if you try https://rws.webhop.org:443 it should work
Edit: you might need to portforward port 443 to the NAS box though.
r18rws
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎27-07-2010

Re: plusnet value and Iomega NAS network hardrive - no remote connect

80
20
21
443
all port forwarded to NAS static IP but no luck
factory reset router and nas and re entred all settings and still teh same issue
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,366
Thanks: 15
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: plusnet value and Iomega NAS network hardrive - no remote connect

OK, I just looked at the webhop setup pages. What have you set the WebHop Redirect URL to? Wink
--
3Mb FTTC
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed