cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

inSSIDer stopped displaying ------ why? ? ?

Community Veteran
Posts: 18,001
Thanks: 1,683
Fixes: 19
Registered: ‎06-11-2007

inSSIDer stopped displaying ------ why? ? ?

I have been using inSSIDer to monitor my router wireless signals, and so far, has been pretty good.!.... BUT it has stopped displaying,  (did it while I wasn`t watching)- I went to lunch ! !  when I came back to the laptop, blank screen.... not a trace in sight..... yet the one on my mrs laptop in the other room about 50feet away was happily displaying all and sundry !...
I have deleted it, and I have re-installed it.... and also the update version too !.... neither of them want to work when you click on start o start searching....
anyone any ideas, please?
6 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 18,001
Thanks: 1,683
Fixes: 19
Registered: ‎06-11-2007

Re: inSSIDer stopped displaying ------ why? ? ?

SORTED !.. Cheesy
Tried to get three other similar progs to work, but no joy.... netstumbler even reported "no wireless card detected"...... yet I am connected via wireless !!!...
downloaded "net surveyor".... installed it  ,... and it required a re-boot..... on re-boot... it worked fine... (quite interesting displays and graphs - worth a look) ....
then tried "inSSIDer" and it, too, was working as it should...
hope this helps someone else !... Wink
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: inSSIDer stopped displaying ------ why? ? ?

I found on my Win 7 machine that inSSIDer badly hogged the internet speed, have you tried doing a speed check with and without it?
Community Veteran
Posts: 18,001
Thanks: 1,683
Fixes: 19
Registered: ‎06-11-2007

Re: inSSIDer stopped displaying ------ why? ? ?

No, I haven`t, "deliberately"..... I can`t remember whether it was running during my speed tests.!.... I usually close stuff down, but it  might be worth a try  !.. to see if it does make a difference...
Community Veteran
Posts: 18,001
Thanks: 1,683
Fixes: 19
Registered: ‎06-11-2007

Re: inSSIDer stopped displaying ------ why? ? ?

Here is the results of the tests... using speed.io
1st run..... WITH inSSIDer running.
downstream    972        upstream    84      connections per minute  1055      ping 43
2nd run  WITHOUT inSSIDer running
downstream 977          upstream  108    connections per minute 1092      ping 41
3rd run  WITHOUT inSSIDer running
downstream 977      upstream  99        connections per minute 1284      ping 49
4th run  WITH inSSIDer running
downstream 969      upstream  116    connections per minute 972    ping 42

so.... really very little difference... with or without it running...  (BT speedtester, (and others) say you should stop all internet activity during the test.)
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: inSSIDer stopped displaying ------ why? ? ?

wouldnt say that it makes any difference, MUCH

Monday 19:04 3841 kbps (480kB/s) 196 kbps (24.5kB/s)
Monday 19:02 11612 kbps (1.45MB/s) 775 kbps (96.9kB/s)
Community Veteran
Posts: 18,001
Thanks: 1,683
Fixes: 19
Registered: ‎06-11-2007

Re: inSSIDer stopped displaying ------ why? ? ?

Well I`m not complaining about my results.... seems to me.... those who have the luxury of speeds in excess of 2mbs always complain about losing a 1 mb,.... I consider my (usual) 1.2 mbs to be quite adequate for my needs , so long as it is stable....... however, anything above 2mbs would be luxury.....