cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

hhttp and other things

Luzern
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 2,884
Thanks: 235
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

hhttp and other things

I get email  news letters from various sources with links to articles on main sites. This morning I clicked on one and the error message as per attachment came up. I did not cancel but tried to find the application option. No joy. I then tried system restores, but none of them, whether related to an action on my part or a checkpoint altered my computer. I'm bewildered,
Can any soul advise
What is hhttp and how do I get the necessary application?
Why are my attempts at restoring to an earlier fate failing and a process to correct? Thank you
XP3 SP3 installed

No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
9 REPLIES
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 2,563
Thanks: 262
Fixes: 5
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: hhttp and other things

I suspect it is http:// and has been mistyped.
Phil
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,367
Thanks: 987
Fixes: 116
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: hhttp and other things

Yep that looks like it, you should be able to copy and paste the link dropping the extra h
Will Moderate For Thanks
Luzern
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 2,884
Thanks: 235
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: hhttp and other things

Thanks guys Smiley
Funny how a respected computer mag can boob like that.There was another link to the same article that was formatted properly. An example of modern "haven't got time to check"? Undecided
Has anyone advice on the issue of my failures to restore system to an earlier date?
No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,311
Thanks: 972
Fixes: 57
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: hhttp and other things

Quote from: lucerne
Has anyone advice on the issue of my failures to restore system to an earlier date?
That is often due to the Internet Security Package which has protected files and registry entries.
Try doing it in safe mode
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,367
Thanks: 987
Fixes: 116
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: hhttp and other things

Didn't think you could do a system restore in safe mode these days - sure I tried that the other week and it failed.
Though I could be losing the plot Crazy
Will Moderate For Thanks
Luzern
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 2,884
Thanks: 235
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: hhttp and other things

Quote from: adiewoo
Though I could be losing the plot Crazy
I think I'm losing the whole blinking estate sometimes.
However I tried safe mode>control panel as administrator, and got the classic screen. The only eviidence of system restore is in the System folder. That does not permit changes.
No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
Luzern
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 2,884
Thanks: 235
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: hhttp and other things

Could it be any of the following causing the troubles?
Router firewall
Zone Alarm firewall (free)
Super Anti Spyware (free)
Win Patrol (free)
I need to be able to go back, as a prog removed a couple of weeks ago is also giving post mortem grief: a clear out of sys res will make that permanent.
No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,311
Thanks: 972
Fixes: 57
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: hhttp and other things

It should be possible to do it in Safe Mode
Quote
If System Restore doesn't work in Normal Mode, it might work in Safe Mode. To use System Restore in Safe Mode, press the F8 key during reboot and choose Safe Mode. When your computer starts in either Safe Mode or Normal Mode, System Restore can be used to capture a working previous state. System Restore can't be opened unless the system is bootable into one of these modes.
However I believe that you can't restore to a pre SP3 point
This is one description of how to do it http://bertk.mvps.org/html/safemode.html
Luzern
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 2,884
Thanks: 235
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: hhttp and other things

@oldjim I found that helpful. I think what I'd done is select 'yes' in a dialogue box not 'no. Somehow msconfig and bootini focuseed me on it.
No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.