Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

dreamweaver 8 help please

netreg
Grafter

dreamweaver 8 help please

Hi all,
i'm still learning dreamweaver and as a result i gotta couple of questions..
q1 - can you link to an area on another page..  I know you can use anchors but from what i understand, you can link to those if they are on the same page you are currently viewing..  Huh
q2 - i want to have a text box that reads (preferably formated) text in from a text file or windows document... is this possible  Huh
thanks in advance
9 REPLIES 9
orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)

Re: dreamweaver 8 help please

Hi there,
I can answer Q1: Yes you can, just put the bookmark link directly after the link to the new page - I think this is correct.

<a href=http://www.yoursite.com/subfolder/page.html#bookmark>link to given section of page</a>

As to Q2, I think you'll need javascript or php to be able to do this and I'm not knowledgable enough to advise though google did turn up some interesting results.
netreg
Grafter

Hi, i tried that but it didnt seem to work...  let me give it a go..  could be my old mate cache playing tricks on me....
regards
Moderators note by James_H : Removed full quote of previous post - it is not needed in this situation. : link:rules
orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)

Apologies, I forgot the quotes. The above should be:
<a href="http://www.yoursite.com/subfolder/page.html#bookmark">link to given section of page</a>

Sorry about that... hope that makes the difference.
netreg
Grafter

Quote from: orbrey
Apologies, I forgot the quotes. The above should be:
<a href="http://www.yoursite.com/subfolder/page.html#bookmark">link to given section of page</a>

Sorry about that... hope that makes the difference.

yep, got it thanks, that works Smiley
MikeWhitehead
Grafter

Quote from: netreg