cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

destop

tynygongl
Grafter

destop

I have a new computer - Acer - and when I open anything from desktop it only opens half size (then I have to maximize) Acer told me to do a factory restore; it took 2 hrs and hasn't solved the problem. Any ideas? I am no expert!
23 REPLIES 23
Oldjim
Resting Legend
Fixes: 63

Re: destop

Do you get the same thing if you double click on the exe file rather than the short cut
ReedRichards
Seasoned Pro
Fixes: 25

Explain to Acer that the factory reset did not fix the problem so they must replace it under warranty.
tynygongl
Grafter

To Oldjim,
sorry, but I don't know what you mean by exe file
Strat
Community Veteran
Fixes: 565

It's an executable file, a file with .exe after it's name such as firefox.exe
Windows 10 Firefox 109.0 (64-bit)
To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
w23
Pro
Fixes: 4

If you right button click an item (program shortcut) on the desktop, then select 'properties' from the pop-up menu there should be a box where you can select to run in 'Normal window', 'Minimized' or 'Maximized' (Microsoft's spelling, not mine), does selecting 'Maximized' have the desired effect?
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
ReedRichards
Seasoned Pro
Fixes: 25

If you have this problem and it survived a factory reset then hundreds of other people who bought the same model of computer built at about the same time will have the same problem.  Acer should be becoming aware of this and it's up to Acer to find a fix for you.  Take it back to the shop if necessary.
tynygongl
Grafter