cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

blue screen of death 0x000007b.

aldabbagh
Grafter
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎24-03-2013

blue screen of death 0x000007b.

I just a Dell Optiplex 760 from work, I Recently had a Dell Optiplex 380 ( Gave that to my son) The Dell 380 was running my Windows 2008 R2 (I know it's weird) anyways. I put the hard drive into the new Dell pc. It keeps on restarting, I get a blue screen of death 0x00007b. Also I tried deleting the old hard drive controller from the other pc and then tried to delete the hard drive driver as well.
What I can't do, try booting into safe mode, didn't work
Tried last Known Good Configuration, didn't work
Also the both PCs are Small Form Factor
Also I went to the bios, It finds the drive but it does not boot into windows. Sad
5 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,424
Thanks: 19
Registered: ‎18-01-2013

Re: blue screen of death 0x000007b.

Generally you can't just swap hard drives between different machines and expect the operating system to run - you'll often find it will freeze and/or BSOD.
Normally you'll need to wipe the drive and/or do a fresh install over the existing data - sometimes you can just move the existing windows folder out of the way and do a new install while keeping the data on your drive.
aldabbagh
Grafter
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎24-03-2013

Re: blue screen of death 0x000007b.

I don't want reinstall my Domain Controller. >.> It has all my settings for my Network, such as Group Policies, Disk Quota settings and so on.
CX
Grafter
Posts: 745
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎16-09-2010

Re: blue screen of death 0x000007b.

Maybe one of the systems was set to AHCI mode for the SATA controller, and the other for Legacy IDE or RAID.
aldabbagh
Grafter
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎24-03-2013

Re: blue screen of death 0x000007b.

I Just Checked the settings, its on the defualt settings
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,424
Thanks: 19
Registered: ‎18-01-2013

Re: blue screen of death 0x000007b.

See if you can take a photo of the BSOD - often it will tell you in what module it has caused the fault and you can Google it and work back from there.