cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

asking for network address

hermit
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: 08-03-2008

asking for network address

Just had the team set up spouses laptop to a netgear 834DG. Informed that everthing has crashed and cannot connect to the internet although the signal strength is exellent. Gone thru the instructions on the netgear site by using cable but still unable to connect. Keeps asking for network address. Any advice please. My hair is going greyer.
5 REPLIES
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: asking for network address

its normally Username@plusdsl.net  and then the password you have already shosen
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: asking for network address

No, it won't be that.
Have you set up a security code on your Router?  It might be asking you for that?
Denzil
Grafter
Posts: 1,733
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: asking for network address

Another thought - have you set the router to publicly broadcast the SSID? SSID is the name you give the connection in the router settings. If it is broadcast the PC should pick it up and you just click on it to set it up. If it is not broadcast you will have to manually type the name. With your cable connection, type "192.168.0.1" into a browser window, log in then go to the Wireless settings page. By default the SSID is Netgear, but it is best to change this to a name of your choice.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: 02-02-2008

Re: asking for network address

Quote from: hermit
Keeps asking for network address.

If it's still a problem can you explain exactly WHAT is asking for a network address, and where and how? As you've worded it that could be many things.......
The_10th
Grafter
Posts: 1,090
Registered: 08-04-2007

Re: asking for network address

Quote from: hermit
...Informed that everthing has crashed and cannot connect to the internet although the signal strength is exellent... Keeps asking for network address...

Can you work via a 'wired' connection to the netgear router?
Was the wireless connection working before <bold quote above> happened?
The signal strength is a guide to how 'fast' your connection (excellent being up to 54Mbps).
Would you be able to post a screenshot (print screen key) of the event and link here (imagshack or suchlike) as this would be a great help?