cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

all in one router

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,931
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 1
Registered: 01-08-2007

all in one router

Since I have had fibre the line has been uber stable. I currently have the plusnet fibre router installed but I was going to put on my billion 7300n to see how that performs as under adsl the technicolor obe held the line better. Anyone ever used this combo?
I also want to treat my self to an all in one device, to get rid of this modem/router setup. I have been looking on the broadband buyer site and the billion 8800nl looks quite nice. I dont really need gigabit ports at the min. There are also others like the tg589vn. Budget us up to 70poundish. Anyone any advice or ideas on the above. 
Also as an aside, does my phone line use the e side fibre as well or still the old copper
7 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,310
Thanks: 972
Fixes: 57
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: all in one router

Community Veteran
Posts: 6,307
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: all in one router

Quote from: penfold
Also as an aside, does my phone line use the e side fibre as well or still the old copper

Telephone (or any POTS device such as fax) still uses the old e-side.
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,931
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 1
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: all in one router

Thanks guys. The kitz site is interesting. Will have a good read up.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: all in one router

There's also this thread http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,136198.0.html on here about the 8800NL and this comment in relation to the TG589. HTH.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,931
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 1
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: all in one router

Thanks anotherone, appreciate that.  Should have done a forum search myself Embarrassed
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: all in one router

No problem, hope it helps, it was only because I'd recalled seeing those posts Wink
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,931
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 1
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: all in one router

Just in case other people are wanting to use the 7300n on fttc, there is a major issue, that when you set it up with a wan port its limited to 30mbps both upstream and downstream.
There is no updated firmware to address this issue. Seems a little as when you look at the instruction there are settings clearly showing figures above 30mbps.  I am on the 40/20 product so I am going to give it a shot, but for anybody on 80mbps its abit useless.