cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

XP - Sata Install problem

God
Grafter

XP - Sata Install problem

I'm trying to install XP Pro SP2c on a new PC with three internal SATA drives.
XP is giving me a hard time, having asked me if I want to create a parition on the target drive it then says it needs to copy some files across but that is can't because the drive doesn't have a valid boot sector for XP.
If I have to I guess I could put a drive in another machine format is and try again. I remember the days when XP didn't recognise SATA drives without extra drivers during install, but surely as it can see all three this isn't the problem any more? 
Any ideas for a quick solution?
14 REPLIES 14
Oldjim
Resting Legend
Fixes: 63

Re: XP - Sata Install problem

I have no direct experience of a multiple sata drive problem but I know that trying to install on a sata drive when there is a PATA drive installed won't work as XP puts some files on the PATA drive even though it isn't supposed to.
Can you try disconnecting the two drives you aren't going to use and trying to install on the remaining one as I suspect it is trying to put some files on one of the other SATA drives
God
Grafter

That sounds right Jim. When XP install offers me the drives to install on they all seem to be the same drive number. I was trying not to open the box again but I reckon I will have to! I'll give it a go and report back!
God
Grafter

Argghhhh... PC boot now seems to stop during post at ACPI controller. I have no idea what is going on!
Oldjim
Resting Legend

Which motherboard are you using.
I seem to remember reported problems using the off chip SATA port on some motherboards
God
Grafter

Gigabyte GA-P35C-DS3R Socket 775 8 Channel Audio ATX Motherboard 
Oldjim
Resting Legend

first thought is to try using the yellow SATA connector instead of the purple one as the purple one uses the JMicron JMB363 chip while the three yellow ones use the Intel ICH9R Southbridge.
Oldjim