cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wireless router - help please

intrepid

Wireless router - help please

Hi there, I'm new to broadband and I'm not sure whether to leave my wireless router powered-up 24/7 or to switch off after each session.
I've followed the instructions regarding securing my router but how can I check that I'm protected against unauthorised access to my broadban connection.
Any help would be welcome. Thanks.
13 REPLIES 13
pierre_pierre
Grafter

Re: Wireless router - help please

morning and welcome to the forum.+
initially, leave it on for the first ten days, this to get BT to recognize the speed and quality of your line.
By security, I take it you have WPA installed, you should get some form of Anti Virus, I use AVG, but the latest version 9 seems to have some problems, other people will advise when they wake up.  the PN firewall is said to be sufficient
James
Grafter

Hi there,
Peter raises some good points.
Ideally it's best to keep it turned on for the first 10 days, then you can just turn it off overnight when you're not using it.
scootie
Grafter

minum of wpa but better if use wpa2 encpt for the wireless and use password thats hard to guess best not to use dictionary words as i belive the way very determined hackers crack wpa is knowin as a dictinory attack but last i checked it they have to sniff wpa for days for them to get enough leaked info to work out the password
so its simple case of not picking a password thats in the book of words
you can switch the wireless off but when ever you want to use it you have to wire your self to the router and switch it on again
VileReynard
Hero
Fixes: 20

Despite the headlines WPA hasn't been cracked yet.
It isn't possible to extract your encryption key and it isn't possible to inject data packets to hack into your bank etc.
However, it is possible to inject certain small control packets into your router where most of the (unencrypted) format is already known.