cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wireless (non) connection

timroe

Wireless (non) connection

I'm new to Plusnet and am having difficulty connecting wirelessly via the Thomson TG585v7 router supplied by Plusnet. The laptop that's having problems is an elderly, (but still perfectly seviceable), G3 PowerBook known as a  Pismo running OSX 10.4.11 (Tiger). When the machine is turned on the airport icon in the top strip is greyed out, though the Plusnet network shows up when the icon is clicked on. If I then select the Plusnet network to try to connect to the internet there is a brief pause and an error message appears stating that " An error occured trying to connect to the PlusnetWireless network" . I'm given an option of "Try again" or "OK". If I try again then the same error message appears and clicking "OK" means giving up on the whole exercise.
Interestingly I can "fool" the Pismo into connecting wirelessly by switching the router off then on and waiting for the Plusnet network to appear under the airport icon and then selecting that network. However when the airport is turned off or the Pismo shut down exactly the same scenario repeats as outlined above.
Previously my ISP was Orange and there was no problem connecting via the Seimens wireless router supplied by them.
Any thoughts/suggestions?
2 REPLIES 2
MacOS10
Grafter

Re: Wireless (non) connection

If the Pismo has an Airport Card, this will be the original Airport Card (54b) and not the later Airport Extreme Card (54g). Therefore, make sure your router allows 54b connections - some modern routers are set to exclude the older, slower speed wireless cards. Or does the Pismo use a wireless network PCI card in the PCI slot on the side of the Mac? If so, check for updated drivers for that PCI card.