cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wireless networking

weatherman
Grafter
Posts: 47
Registered: 20-08-2007

Wireless networking

I have a Asus A8V delux M/B and a Netgear router it did work but for some reason has stopped, so at present I have to hard wire it and it works fine but I would like the added flexability of the wireless has anybody got any ideas as to how you get the wireless motherboard and the router to speak to each other?
8 REPLIES
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,822
Thanks: 245
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Wireless networking

Have you tried "Broadcast ssid in the router"?

weatherman
Grafter
Posts: 47
Registered: 20-08-2007

Re: Wireless networking

It is set to broadcast ssid
weatherman
Grafter
Posts: 47
Registered: 20-08-2007

Re: Wireless networking

Can you give some more details about your problem? Is Windows able to search for wireless networks and recognise the SSID of your network? :t shows Netgear router in connect to
How are you trying to connect, through the ASUS software or the zero config wizard?, :not sure what the zero config wizard is
What version of Windows (or other operating system) are you using?: Windows XP Prof SP2
Does the wireless adaptor appear in Device Manager? :hopefully the screen dump has got through
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,822
Thanks: 245
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Wireless networking

The main PC's are Linux (Ubuntu) - although I do have a laptop which runs Windows XP SP2.
The router is Netgear and I have 2 PC's on Ubuntu (Dapper) + one PC on Ubuntu (Feisty).
AFAIK all 4 PC's have Netgear cards and the wireless router is also netgear.
I can display several Wireless networks from the Windows machine, even when my main PC indicates that signal strength is low. (Re)-connection has always been possible - although it sometimes takes a very long time.
Current (moderate) Linux details are [**** = pathetic attempt to hide security]
I have always had broadcast SSID switched on - I think Windows couldn't connect without it (not sure about that...).
Distance from this PC to router is about 5m including a brick wall.
Details of PC Wireless card [on LAN]:- iwconfig ath0
ath0  IEEE 802.11g  ESSID:"*****"  Nickname:""
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.437 GHz  Access Point: [MAC-ADDRESS****] 
          Bit Rate=12 Mb/s  Tx-Power:18 dBm  Sensitivity=0/3 
          RetryShockedff  RTS thrShockedff  Fragment thrShockedff
          Power ManagementShockedff
          Link Quality=21/94  Signal level=-74 dBm  Noise level=-95 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0  Missed beacon:0

VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,822
Thanks: 245
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Wireless networking

Oops I posted in the wrong thread - sorry Cry Cry Cry

weatherman
Grafter
Posts: 47
Registered: 20-08-2007

Re: Wireless networking

I have tried the action you suggested but still get no wireless connection I have downloaded Network Magic but this doesn't help there must be something simple I am not doing right as it all used to work
Will
Grafter
Posts: 44
Registered: 19-08-2007

Re: Wireless networking

This happens to me from time to time when i change router settings.
I find simply resetting the router to factory defaults sorts it out.
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,822
Thanks: 245
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Wireless networking

Have you tried PJ's suggestion of
Quote
Is Windows able to search for wireless networks and recognise the SSID of your network?

If you live in a suburban area you should be able to find several networks, especially around teatime.