cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wireless network access

Pictureman1
Grafter
Posts: 48
Registered: 09-01-2008

Wireless network access

Hi,
Have 3 systems, 2 Desktop and a Laptop, all Win XP, Kaspersky Internet Security, PC's are wired to Linksys WAG354g Modem Router, Laptop uses wireless access.
Problem, all 3 access internet without problem, 2 Desktops can access each other via network however Desktops cannot access Laptop nor can Laptop access Desktops. Have rerun Network setup wizard on all 3 without any change.
Suggestions gratefully received, with detailed guidance if possible since I am a novice on networks.
Thanks

24 REPLIES
Nick_Russell
Grafter
Posts: 553
Registered: 10-05-2007

Re: Wireless network access

Can you "see" the computers but not access them?  If so, make sure they are all in same Workgroup.  My Computer/properties/Computer Name.
Pictureman1
Grafter
Posts: 48
Registered: 09-01-2008

Re: Wireless network access

Hi Nick
Thanks for that, yes the Laptop is on the same network have just checked on my own desktop and the laptop, they both show the appropriate computer name and then network as MSHOME.
If I right click on START and then EXPLORE then expand on MY NETWORK PLACES it shows the computer I am working on and the Laptop (the second desktop is off at the moment), if I then click on the Laptop I get the message "Laptop is not accessible" might not have permission etc and "network path not found"
If I reverse and try from the Laptop only the Laptop shows up in MY NETWORK PLACES.
Thanks for the initial response, hope the above gives some further pointer to my problem.
Alf
Nick_Russell
Grafter
Posts: 553
Registered: 10-05-2007

Re: Wireless network access

Are any of the laptops work machines usually in a Domain at the office?  If so they may show up but you will not be able to access them from your PC.  You should be able to do the reverse, access the PC from the laptops.
Just check you have "shared" any folders you wish to "see"
Nick_Russell
Grafter
Posts: 553
Registered: 10-05-2007

Re: Wireless network access

Quote from: Pictureman1
Thanks for that, yes the Laptop is on the same network have just checked on my own desktop and the laptop, they both show the appropriate computer name and then network as MSHOME.

To be pedantic, they need to be in the same WORKGROUP.
Computer Description
Full Computer Name
Workgroup.
Check My Computer, Properties
Pictureman1
Grafter
Posts: 48
Registered: 09-01-2008

Re: Wireless network access

Hi Nick
Sorry about the confusion due to my lack of knowledge in networking, to clarify each system has its own individual computer description i.e.
Alf's      Hobbies Room        or Laptop
They then have their individual names
Study      Jeans                  or Laptop
All are then in the same Workgroup
MSHOME
I think that is what you wanted to know, sorry if I did not make this completely clear earlier.
Alf
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,718
Thanks: 931
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Wireless network access

On the laptop, can you look at the properties of the network connection and check that File and Printer Sharing for Microsoft Networks is enabled.
Also on the laptop (with one of the Study PC powered up) open a Cmd box (Start menu, Run, "cmd" and hit enter), then enter
ping Study

You should get something like
C:\Documents and Settings\John>ping Study
Pinging Study [192.168.0.104] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.0.104: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.104: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.104: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.104: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Ping statistics for 192.168.0.104:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

If you don't can you post back what you get.
Also again from the cmd box could you run
ipconfig /all

and post the results. Please could you do that from both the laptop and the Study PC (you'll have to post from one and then make another post or modify your post to add the results from the other.


(To copy text from the cmd box drag over the area with the mouse and then hit enter. To format the text nicely on here wrap it in Preformatted text[pre]...[/pre] tags - it's the button with just to the right of the )
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,875
Thanks: 126
Fixes: 24
Registered: 14-07-2009

Re: Wireless network access

This is often a firewall problem.  What security software does each computer use?
Edit:  Oh, sorry, I see it is Kaspersky Internet Security.  Are the firewall setting the same in each case?  Or can you temporarily turn the firewall off and see if it makes any difference.   
Nick_Russell
Grafter
Posts: 553
Registered: 10-05-2007

Re: Wireless network access

What version of Windows XP are you using, Home or Professional?
Are you sure you have enabled file sharing?
Pictureman1
Grafter
Posts: 48
Registered: 09-01-2008

Re: Wireless network access

Hi and thanks to all
I have now worked through all the responses, here is the info requested:-
OS - Win XP - HOME
Yes File & Printer sharing is enabled, checked on properties and the box is ticked on both systems
A PING of Laptop gives following message - Ping request could not find Laptop (or Study from Laptop) check name and try again
I temporarily disabled the software firewall on both systems still no communication (PING still no reply)
Here is the ipconfig information
This is the info from:_  Study  Desktop

Windows IP Configuration
        Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : study
        Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
        Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
        IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
        WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
        DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : domain_not_set.invalid
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : domain_not_set.invalid
        Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller
        Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0D-56-58-5D-28
        Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
        Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.64
        Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
        DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
        DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 212.159.6.10
                                            212.159.6.9
                                            192.168.1.1
        Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 15 July 2009 17:38:18
        Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 16 July 2009 17:38:18

This from:-  Laptop

C:\Documents and Settings\Alf>ipconfig /all
Windows IP Configuration
        Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : LAPTOP
        Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
        Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
        IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
        WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
        DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : domain_not_set.invalid
Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:
        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : domain_not_set.invalid
        Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection
        Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-02-AE-AB-18
        Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
        Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.65
        Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
        DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
        DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 212.159.6.10
                                            212.159.6.9
                                            192.168.1.1
        Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 15 July 2009 17:56:29
        Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 16 July 2009 17:56:29
With both Desktop systems on I am able to PING from Study to Jeans, that confirmed to me the I had got the PING command correct, hope this corers all the info requested
Many thanks
Alf
Pictureman1
Grafter
Posts: 48
Registered: 09-01-2008

Re: Wireless network access

Hi Nick
Just spotted I have missed one question, no Office Domain involved, I am retired and all the systems are used for our own purposes and hobbies
Alf
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,718
Thanks: 931
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Wireless network access

In the ipconfig output you have the IP Address of the PCs (e.g. 192.168.1.64 for Study)
Can you try pinging the laptop by it's IP address from Study (or Jeans) and pinging Study from the laptop by it's IP address please.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,875
Thanks: 126
Fixes: 24
Registered: 14-07-2009

Re: Wireless network access

If you have the time and the patience, I suggest you work your way through the advice given here:
http://networking.nitecruzr.net/2005/10/irregularities-in-workgroup-visibility.html
Pictureman1
Grafter
Posts: 48
Registered: 09-01-2008

Re: Wireless network access

Hi Jelv
Result of a PING of the IP address is the same as a PING of the computer name "could not find host", that is from both the laptop and study systems
Alf
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,875
Thanks: 126
Fixes: 24
Registered: 14-07-2009

Re: Wireless network access

I take it you mean the response was "Could not find host" when you used the names and "Destination host unreachable" or "Request timed out" when you used IP addresses?