cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wireless access from a laptop

graham4x
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 01-07-2007

Wireless access from a laptop

Hi,
Both my son and daughter have recently purchased new laptops which are wireless enabled. I currently run a Solwise router connected to a small hub to provide access to the main computers but they wish to connect form their rooms via the wireless function. My question is - how can I provided this connectability? is it just a case of swapping my Solwise router for a wireless router - bearing in mind the home machines are using ethernet and do not have wireless capabilities.
Many thanks for all assistance
Ken Graham
8 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,430
Thanks: 682
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Wireless access from a laptop

You could just plug a Wireless Access Point in to your existing hub. There's some listed here but you may be able to find better prices.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,645
Thanks: 204
Fixes: 9
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Wireless access from a laptop

You can have a mixture of ethernet and wifi connections operating simultaneously.
You can add (if you want) wireless cards to your main computers.
Wifi is much slower than ethernet  - but quite fast enough for internet access.

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,291
Thanks: 2
Registered: 10-08-2007

Re: Wireless access from a laptop

Hi Ken
Quote
is it just a case of swapping my Solwise router for a wireless router

Yes
If you get one make sure it is enabled for WPA security.
I use a Netgear DG834Gv2 . It is a couple of years old now. It has four ethernet ports and wireless with WPA
For me this handles 3 wired ethernet connnections and 3 wireless connections.
If you are watching the pennies you can get very good wireless routers on Ebay for not a lot of money.
Have a look through the forum there are discussions on the pros and cons of various routers.
I hope this helps. Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,430
Thanks: 682
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Wireless access from a laptop

I've got a Netgear WG602 (it has WPA) - but something like this would do the job: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260333883655&ru=http%3A%2F%2Fshop.ebay.co.uk%3A...
A LOT cheaper than replacing a perfectly good router!
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,699
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Wireless access from a laptop

Or agree to stay with Plusnet for a year, and get a nice shiny new router for free  Wink
John
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,321
Thanks: 954
Fixes: 113
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Wireless access from a laptop

...well 6.99 P+P  Smiley
Will Moderate For Thanks
graham4x
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 01-07-2007

Re: Wireless access from a laptop

Many thanks to al that have responded.  In the most part you have confirmed what I was considering and that is always a good thing. Personally I cannot see me leaving Plusnet as the service is great - but I already pay £21 and I cannot see them a) giving me a new wireless router. b) letting me reduce my bill to £6.99 - lol
Once again many thanks for the help
Ken Graham
p.s. To Plusnet staffs, comment on the new wireless router? I do intend to remain for at least 12 months !!!
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Wireless access from a laptop

@graham4x
I think we should be able to manage that, if you can just raise a ticket on your account requesting it and agreeing to the £6.99 postage charge we'll get one sent out to you. You'd need to pay the cost of the router if you did decide to leave within 12 months though.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff