cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wireless Efficiency

DJY007

Wireless Efficiency

Hi Guys n Gals,
My wired desktop PC died so I have had to buy an Acer notebook.  I have no experience of wireless networking so...
I have an Intel WiFi Link 4965AGN inbuilt and have just bought a Netgear DG834N router.  Both are draft n WLAN standard so what efficiency can I expect?
Previously I had ~2Mbps download speed using Plusnet's/McAfee Speed Testers on my old Voyager 205 wired desktop, but with this new WiFi I reach a mere 0.5Mbps !!
The WiFi network connection speed according to Vista is set @ only 54Mbps, though the ndraft should give "up to 270Mbps" as I understand it.  Not sure how to adjust to the full ndraft rate though?
If it helps my router stats are;
System Up Time 01:28:01
Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
WAN PPPoA 3118 3765 0 482 1830 00:29:32
LAN 10M/100M 11616 9519 0 1262 335 01:27:55
WLAN 11M/54M/270M 11416 6539 0 1487 258 01:17:23

ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 2464 kbps 448 kbps
Line Attenuation 44.0 db 22.0 db
Noise Margin 15.6 db 21.0 db

Why the drop?  How can I improve to previous speeds?  Anybody else use either of these components?  The Netgear DG834N seemed very common and least problematic, and the Intel Wifi Link is commonplace too.  What am I doing wrong?
Thanks in advance,
DJY007.
9 REPLIES 9
DJY007

Re: Wireless Efficiency

Furthermore, I am on Plusnet's Max DSL up to 8Mbps service...
Thanks again.
pierre_pierre
Grafter

I could not find the mag article, but it was recent, they stated that connection speed was proportional to the distance from router to pc, they did test on about 10 systems and showed graphs of the effect., drop off was similar to what you are showing over about 20 feet.  Also for some reason, stated that router should be up high, and that signal doesn't much like going through brick walls.
samuria
Grafter