cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Windows Aero

Community Veteran
Posts: 18,553
Thanks: 195
Registered: 12-08-2007

Windows Aero

I have been looking at my Performance Information & Tools on my Windows 7 PC.
My base score is only 3 and this is due to Graphics Windows Aero. What problem is this causing me as the PC seems to perform well?
What is Aero? 
31 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,887
Thanks: 1,195
Fixes: 50
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Windows Aero

Pretty stuff on the UI http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_Aero
Some people turn it off.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

Community Veteran
Posts: 18,553
Thanks: 195
Registered: 12-08-2007

Re: Windows Aero

Thanks Strat.  Looks like it's something I need to look into when I get home later.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 16,817
Thanks: 1,932
Fixes: 133
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Windows Aero

I tried W7 with Aero turned off for a while but didn't notice any conceivable speed increase.
Two things to try would be to ensure you have the latest graphics drivers and/or upgrade your video card.
My Base score is 7.3 with all but RAM (which is 7.7) at 7.3.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Community Veteran
Posts: 18,553
Thanks: 195
Registered: 12-08-2007

Re: Windows Aero

Wow!! My best is only 5.7
A couple of questions please:
How do I turn Aero on and off?
Where do I look to check my graphic card updates?  Hopefully you can explain in simple language as I'm not a PC geek like a few on here.
I think these are the details of my graphic card:
Interl 82945G Express Chipset Family.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 16,817
Thanks: 1,932
Fixes: 133
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Windows Aero

Quote from: artmo
How do I turn Aero on and off?

Right-click on empty part of the desktop - Select 'Personalize' - Under 'Basic and High Contrast Themes' select 'Windows 7 Basic'.
Quote from: artmo
Where do I look to check my graphic card updates?  Hopefully you can explain in simple language as I'm not a PC geek like a few on here.

I use AMD graphics but I think trying this link and selecting 'Automatically detect and update drivers and software' may be a good starting point.
Of all my systems I had since W7 the biggest stumbling block for the Base score has been the Hard Drive which was in the high 5's. That shot up to 7.3 this system when I added the SSD Smiley

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,181
Thanks: 19
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Windows Aero

Its a desktop theme so via Control panel/Personalization.
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
Community Veteran
Posts: 18,553
Thanks: 195
Registered: 12-08-2007

Re: Windows Aero

@Mav, I checked out the link you gave me and it tells me I have the latest drivers Smiley
Going to the themes - am i right, if I select one of the 7 Area themes that means Areo is on and if I select one of the 6 basic and high contgrast it is off?
Once I've selected a theme a box pops up asking me to give it a name. I assume this has to be done to switch it on Undecided
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,307
Thanks: 972
Fixes: 57
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Windows Aero

A question - is it a desktop or a laptop
If a desktop are you interested in sorting it as that low a score indicates that it has integrated graphics
Community Veteran
Posts: 18,553
Thanks: 195
Registered: 12-08-2007

Re: Windows Aero

It's a desktop.  Is that score (3) normal for integrated graphics?
I'm generally pleased with its performance but having come across the check I thought I would ask the question.
For reference the other readings are:
Processor 5.1
RAM 5.1
Graphic games 3.2
Primary hard disk 5.7
The readings seem low compared to Mav's.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,307
Thanks: 972
Fixes: 57
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Windows Aero

It probably is with limited ram
However
If you don't play games etc. the overall performance may not be too bad
What is the make/model of it and do you do anything which could be classed as graphics intensive
If you don't then it really doesn't matter
Community Veteran
Posts: 18,553
Thanks: 195
Registered: 12-08-2007

Re: Windows Aero

Just checked using Speccy. It doesn't tell me the model but I know it's an HP.
It shows 4Gb of RAM and no I don't do anything that could be classed as graphics intensive. The extent of my game playing is Solitaire Wink
As I say it's good for my needs.
Could someone please answer my points in post#7 to put my mind at rest.
Is this check available in Windows 8.1 as I don't seem to be able to find it?
Thank you.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,307
Thanks: 972
Fixes: 57
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Windows Aero

The easy way is to go back to the Performance Monitor and click on adjust visual effects
You will see this picture
Then select adjust for best performance and that will get rid of all the aero effects
Community Veteran
Posts: 18,553
Thanks: 195
Registered: 12-08-2007

Re: Windows Aero

Thanks Jim and thank you to everyone who helped out in this thread Smiley Smiley
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 16,817
Thanks: 1,932
Fixes: 133
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Windows Aero

Quote from: artmo
Going to the themes - am i right, if I select one of the 7 Area themes that means Areo is on and if I select one of the 6 basic and high contgrast it is off?

Yes
Quote from: artmo
Once I've selected a theme a box pops up asking me to give it a name. I assume this has to be done to switch it on Undecided

It's been a while since I first turned on Aero - actually I think it was on by default. The only time I recall being asked for a name was when I set up my own backgrounds.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still