cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Windows 7 screen shots?

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,372
Thanks: 33
Registered: 07-03-2008

Windows 7 screen shots?

I really miss the option of taking screenshots of displays which is available in Unbuntu et al.  Is there a similar add-on, plug-in or other program that can be used in Win 7 and FF 7 for the same purpose ?
  Huh Huh
19 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,678
Thanks: 902
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Windows 7 screen shots?

http://www.irfanview.net/
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,187
Thanks: 20
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Windows 7 screen shots?

Print Screen key saves what you are looking at in clipboard, then paste that in MS paint or any paint package.
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,237
Thanks: 977
Fixes: 83
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Windows 7 screen shots?

I use this Firefox extension.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Windows 7 screen shots?

Use the built in snipping tool
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Snipping_Tool
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,372
Thanks: 33
Registered: 07-03-2008

Re: Windows 7 screen shots?

Thanks Bob,
I did look at FF extensions but did not see that one in the list. Will download tomorrow...SWMBO calls!!!
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: 02-02-2008

Re: Windows 7 screen shots?

Quote from: Oldjim
Use the built in snipping tool

Agreed, it does exactly what you're looking for CT. Very handy.  Wink
(and no need to download anything at all, it's there already!)
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,678
Thanks: 902
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Windows 7 screen shots?

Quote from: Bob
I use this Firefox extension.

Have you got the save options to work recently? I'm finding they don't come up with the save dialog.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,678
Thanks: 902
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Windows 7 screen shots?

Quote from: Oldjim
Use the built in snipping tool
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Snipping_Tool

Where's the option to select whether you want the mouse pointer included in the screen shot?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: 02-02-2008

Re: Windows 7 screen shots?

Quote from: jelv
Where's the option to select whether you want the mouse pointer included in the screen shot?

Grin very clever. Roll eyes
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,443
Thanks: 1,469
Fixes: 87
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Windows 7 screen shots?

Quote from: Bob
I use this Firefox extension.

Quote
Not available for Firefox 7.0.1
Angry

Customer and Forum Moderator.

To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,830
Thanks: 251
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Windows 7 screen shots?

I have Screengrab working on FF 7.0.1.

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,443
Thanks: 1,469
Fixes: 87
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Windows 7 screen shots?

Well it refuses to install citing my version of FF.
Presumably you installed it on a previous version.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Windows 7 screen shots?

and my basic Win 7 aint not got the snipping tool
Included with Windows Vista, Windows 7 (Home Premium, Professional, and Ultimate editions only)[1]
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,830
Thanks: 251
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Windows 7 screen shots?

Quote from: Strat
Well it refuses to install citing my version of FF.
Presumably you installed it on a previous version.

I accidentally got onto the beta FF channel - so I reloaded a 3.6 version before going back to 7.0.1