cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Website Not Loading....

nimzoking64
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 31-07-2013

Website Not Loading....

Not sure if this is right spot, here goes Smiley
All of a sudden, having major problems accessing www.wgt.com
Not been a problem until the last day or so.
When I do a traceroute to the web IP address, is gets there alright which suggests up and running.
When I a full page load using pingdom, it loads the whole page in 3 seconds
http://tools.pingdom.com/fpt/#!/dRzlLV/http://www.wgt.com
However, Chrome just does not load the site:
"...Google Chrome could not load the web page because www.wgt.com took too long to respond. ....."
Now here is the fun bit, if I try to load using webproxy:
http://www.webproxy.net/view?q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.wgt.com%2FDefault.aspx
It loads fine.....
As I am on a static IP, I am wondering if my IP is being blocked? I assumed not if it allowed me to do a traceroute - but seeing as that would be on different protocals I am wondering whether the IP is being blocked somewhere?
Any ideas, I need my daily fix  Grin
7 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,172
Thanks: 480
Fixes: 20
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Website Not Loading....

There seems to have been a handful of threads recently of people having issues with one specific website. www.wgt.com loaded for me, although there was a long pause before it loaded the first time I tried it.
Traceroutes look a bit strange at the moment, I'll get different output each time I run traceroute, even a single traceroute can look messy, with the packet for one hop possibly taking a different route than the previous one took.
[tt]# traceroute -q 3 -N 3 -T -p 80 www.wgt.com
traceroute to www.wgt.com (66.70.125.43), 30 hops max, 52 byte packets
1  192.168.0.1 (192.168.0.1)  3.535 ms  3.910 ms  4.625 ms
2  lo0-central10.pcl-ag06.plus.net (195.166.128.187)  24.994 ms  28.719 ms  28.430 ms
3  link-b-central10.pcl-gw02.plus.net (212.159.2.182)  24.770 ms  25.791 ms  26.718 ms
4  214.core.access.plus.net (212.159.0.214)  25.187 ms  25.461 ms  25.010 ms
5  ae2.pcl-cr01.plus.net (195.166.129.6)  24.952 ms ae1.ptw-cr02.plus.net (195.166.129.2)  51.356 ms  28.715 ms
6  te13-4.br02.ldn01.pccwbtn.net (195.66.236.167)  25.765 ms  25.929 ms ae1.ptw-cr01.plus.net (195.166.129.0)  25.449 ms
7  datapipe.te2-3.11.br03.sjo01.pccwbtn.net (63.218.7.11Cool  163.759 ms  177.686 ms  166.789 ms
8  * * *
9  * * *
10  * * *
11  66.70.125.43 (66.70.125.43)  178.768 ms * *
[/tt]
nimzoking64
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 31-07-2013

Re: Website Not Loading....

This is what mine is looking like from the PC
Tracing route to www.wgt.com [66.70.125.43]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    4 ms    99 ms    99 ms  dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]
  2    12 ms    11 ms    11 ms  lo0-central10.pcl-ag05.plus.net [195.166.128.186]
  3    12 ms    11 ms    11 ms  link-b-central10.pcl-gw02.plus.net [212.159.2.178]
  4    11 ms    11 ms    72 ms  210.core.access.plus.net [212.159.0.210]
  5    13 ms    11 ms    16 ms  ae1.ptw-cr02.plus.net [195.166.129.2]
  6    *        *        *    Request timed out.
  7  150 ms  150 ms  152 ms  datapipe.te2-3.11.br03.sjo01.pccwbtn.net [63.218.7.118]
  8    *        *        *    Request timed out.
  9    *        *        *    Request timed out.
10    *        *        *    Request timed out.
11  152 ms  151 ms  153 ms  66.70.125.43
nimzoking64
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 31-07-2013

Re: Website Not Loading....

and sod's law, the site if now loading OK now ...
Arghhh .....
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,172
Thanks: 480
Fixes: 20
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Website Not Loading....

A traceroute using ICMP packets (which is what Windows tracert uses) looks nice and is the same every time, but isn't necessarily representative of actual web traffic.
[tt]traceroute -q 1 -N 1 -I www.wgt.com
traceroute to www.wgt.com (66.70.125.43), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
1  192.168.0.1 (192.168.0.1)  3.354 ms
2  lo0-central10.pcl-ag06.plus.net (195.166.128.187)  25.562 ms
3  link-b-central10.pcl-gw02.plus.net (212.159.2.182)  24.499 ms
4  214.core.access.plus.net (212.159.0.214)  25.234 ms
5  ae1.ptw-cr02.plus.net (195.166.129.2)  24.620 ms
6  te13-4.br02.ldn01.pccwbtn.net (195.66.236.167)  26.439 ms
7  datapipe.te2-3.11.br03.sjo01.pccwbtn.net (63.218.7.11Cool  163.402 ms
8  *
9  *
10  *
11  66.70.125.43 (66.70.125.43)  166.233 ms
[/tt]
nimzoking64
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 31-07-2013

Re: Website Not Loading....

and the same from the router CLI

{fttc}=>traceroute
addr = 66.70.125.43
[count] = 3
[size] = 1
[interval] = 1000
[maxhops] = 30
[dstport] = 33434
[maxfail] = 5
[type] = icmp
[utime] = enabled
: traceroute addr=66.70.125.43
ttl=1  195.166.128.186 18176 us        12095 us        15123 us
ttl=2  212.159.2.178  11368 us        10885 us        11377 us
ttl=3  212.159.0.210  11194 us        10982 us        41096 us
ttl=4  195.166.129.2  14277 us        13847 us        11451 us
ttl=5  *      *      *
ttl=6  63.218.7.118    151674 us      150337 us      177920 us
ttl=7  *      *      *
ttl=8  *      *
Do you want to continue traceroute? (y/n) :y
ttl=8  *
ttl=9  *      *      *
ttl=10  66.70.125.43    151493 us      151539 us      151167 us
Wulfy
Grafter
Posts: 59
Registered: 01-08-2013

Re: Website Not Loading....

While all your efforts are not bad attempts try testing the basics ping is fine but i prefair to see if the website in question has responsive nameservers so the best way to test is to visit www.intodns.com/website.com this will display hopefully all good results but any reds will help you determine if its a website block (unlikely unless youve recently failed multiple times to login or ran a agressive port scan) or dns issues.
Regards,
Chris
nimzoking64
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 31-07-2013

Re: Website Not Loading....

I did ask WGT if they had blocked the site, as when this happened I had recently run a series of ping tests (100 of them) sending 1000 bytes, just rule out packet loss issues (first set of default pings indicated 20% loss).
The extended pings came back OK, no packet loss, and then I was unable to connect to the site for a good few hours.
Then it happened the next day, at same time.
Tonight I can log on to the site, but it is slow ....
Their support is insisting everything OK, can I check for Malware  Crazy
Every other site is working fine and dandy  .... and BF4Free was working like a dream, even if I am still a NooB at the game .... doh!