cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Vodafone Sure Signal - can anyone help?

scbarnard

Vodafone Sure Signal - can anyone help?

Apologies that this has been asked else where but as a complete novice at this I get lost in hte instructions and computer language. 
I moved over to PlusNet two weeks ago, the SureSignal works intermittantly.
I have had the similar email as other people with all the instructions on but don't know where to start.  (Plusnet customer services refused to help me at all and said I should ask here)  I have been through the document on the help pages and I have reset my SS box but it is still really unreliable.
Can someone please help me in language that a simpleton can follow!
The bits I am stuck on are as follows:
3. Ensure that your Sure Signal device is assigned to an internal permanent static IP address on your routers settings and that IP address should be assigned to Sure Signal device s MAC address the sure signal MAC address is written on the back of the sure signal device
The customer service guy said that it is dynamic.  What ever that mean!
4. The maximum connection MTU size to guarantee the connection is 1500
How do I check this?
5. The below is a list of ports required to be forwarded with their proper protocol types 8 TCP UDP 50 TCP UDP 53 TCP UDP 67 UDP 68 UDP 123 UDP 500 UDP 1723 TCP UDP 4500 UDP 33434 - 33445 UDP
I have changed the ports that were in the document in hte help pages, which are the 8, 50, 500 and 4500.  I can imiagine that I can do most of the others but I am not sure how to do the ones that are not TCP AND UDP, ie. 67,68,123,33434-33445?
[b[6. Finally to allow all ports on the firewall settings on the internet router.
?Huh

If anyone can help me I would be eternally grateful.  I have worked out how to get into the router controls but no idea what to do witht he rest.
Many thanks
Sam
3 REPLIES 3
TimStephenson
Grafter

Re: Vodafone Sure Signal - can anyone help?

Hi Sam