cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Vista says rundll32.exe is infected

penneck
Aspiring Pro

Vista says rundll32.exe is infected

My son's laptop has Vista and McAfee on it. I have never used either before, so I dont know how they differ from XP and AVG or Avast
The laptop is complaining about rundll32.exe being infected, and do I want to activate my antivirus software. During bootup, it complained about other things being infected, though those messages have stopped once bootup had completed. McAfee seems to be very slow compared to AVG or Avast.
Google comes up with some advert for an antivirus software that I have never heard of before, but if that is part of the problem, then doing anything might be just what the problem wants. Also it brings up the same sort of  message as the rundll.exe one, but this one has a long name involving google.
Any ideas what I should do about this, please?
Thanks inadvance
10 REPLIES 10
Steve
Seasoned Pro

Re: Vista says rundll32.exe is infected

This Any use to you?   http://recherche21.wordpress.com/2008/07/13/how-to-remove-virus-affecting-rundll32exe/
If life gives you lemons, make lemonade.
ReedRichards
Seasoned Pro
Fixes: 25

The implication of the request to activate the McAfee Antivirus software is that this was never done.  Probably it was a time-limited copy supplied when the computer was new.  I think if McAfee was not activated then it does not install new virus definition updates so it has probably been overwhelmed by a new virus it cannot cope with.