cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Vista + X-Fi and mics how to?

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,188
Thanks: 20
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

Vista + X-Fi and mics how to?

Anyone figured out how to get the mic working in Vista with said card in a useable form?
Only way I can get mine working is if I disable HD audio in the bios and that is with What you hear capture device option, so pointless for gaming or voip.
With HD audio I no longer get the mic working, even with Vistas Sound Recorder
Dxdiag for the nosey
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
3 REPLIES
iainmacmillan
Grafter
Posts: 105
Registered: 09-08-2007

Re: Vista + X-Fi and mics how to?

i am an experienced IT Manager, with a home gaming rig with an X-Fi card, but i don't wish to touch Vista until they iron out all the kinks and fix the hardware issues - plus the lack of games that work.  Soundblaster cards got a raw deal with Vista and despite ALchemy's release for the X-Fi and EAX cards, i believe there is still trouble.  ALchemy re-enables the 3D surround audio features and EAX in games.
have you tried the Creative Labs euro website to see if there have been any fixes/updates to the software available??  The issues are mainly die to DX10, and change from DirectSound to OpenAL sound distribution.
http://uk.europe.creative.com/support/downloads/
According to them, Vista drivers are dated 30th May 07 and ALchemy is dated 8th Aug 07.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,188
Thanks: 20
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Vista + X-Fi and mics how to?

ALchemy is for the older games just get get EAX audio but yeah tried everything from creatives forum and nothing works, £125 down the pan as it was bought for gaming in mind.
I don't have XP to dual boot just win2k but for my New pc the drivers are worse for win2k than Vista's, so in short term I've taken my nice X-fi card out and reverting to onboard which works with no hassles in Vista, just the audio in game via my 5.1 headphones just isn't as a good but atleast the mic works.
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
iainmacmillan
Grafter
Posts: 105
Registered: 09-08-2007

Re: Vista + X-Fi and mics how to?

might be worth contacting Creative themselves in the UK and see if there is something they can suggest (or spend £60 on a XP upgrade CD!!).
failing that a nice email to PCZone or PCGamer may render some results.  I haven't found a working solution other than trying the drivers that they have so far.